Wrestling - Archives 2015-16

Page 1 of 3
OSUís Dieringer and Smith Sweep Yearly Wrestling Honors
Wrestling 04/19/2016

Oklahoma State's Alex Dieringer and John Smith have been awarded yearly Big 12 Wrestling honors, as voted on by fellow conference coaches.

2016 Big 12 Winter Scholar-Athletes of the Year Announced
Conference 04/14/2016

The Big 12 Scholar-Athletes of the Year for the 2015-16 winter sport season have been announced.

OSU's Dieringer Wins 2016 Hodge Trophy
Wrestling 03/28/2016

Oklahoma State's Alex Dieringer, fresh off winning a third NCAA championship, has been selected as the winner of the 2016 WIN Magazine/Culture House Dan Hodge Trophy, presented by ASICS.

Dieringer and Heil Take NCAA Wrestling Titles
Wrestling 03/20/2016

Two Big 12 wrestlers took home individual NCAA titles on Saturday evening, as Oklahoma State's Alex Dieringer and Dean Heil won the final duals in their respective brackets. Hiel topped fellow Big 12 counterpart Bryce Meredith of Wyoming in the 141 pound weight class, while Dieringer defeated Wisconsin's Isaac Jordan for his third consecutive national title at the 165 pound plateau.

NDSU's Clay Ream Earns Elite 90 Award at the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships
Wrestling 03/20/2016

North Dakota State University 149-pounder Clay Ream won the Elite 90 Award presented prior to the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championship matches Saturday, March 19, at Madison Square Garden.

Three Big 12 Wrestlers Advance to NCAA Finals
Wrestling 03/19/2016

Alex Dieringer and Dean Heil, both of Oklahoma State, along with Wyoming's Bryce Meredith advanced to the NCAA Championship finals on Friday evening at Madison Square Garden. Dieringer will face Wisconsin's Isaac Jordan in the 165 pound bout, while Heil will face conference foe Meredith in the 141 pound tussle in the finals on Saturday evening.

42 Conference Wrestlers Set For NCAA Championships
Wrestling 03/09/2016

Six Big 12 wrestlers have earned at-large bids to compete in the NCAA wrestling championships later this month in New York City. In addition to the 36 automatic qualifying bids determined at the Big 12 Wrestling Championship, a total 42 conference student-athletes will be competing for top honors.

Oklahoma State Captures Fourth Straight Big 12 Wrestling Title
Wrestling 03/06/2016

Following a dominant performance, in which nine Cowboys advanced to the finals, Oklahoma State earned the 2016 Big 12 Wrestling Championship title. This marks OSU's fourth consecutive team title and 13th overall since the inception of the league. Seven Cowboys took individual conference titles, along with two Sooners and a Cyclone.

Play Finals For Wrestling Championship Set After Day One
Wrestling 03/05/2016

The Oklahoma State Cowboys placed nine wrestlers in the finals during the first day of action at the Big 12 Wrestling Championship. This marks the second time in three years the squad advanced nine to the final round of action.

Big 12 Announces Wrestling Seeding for Championship
Wrestling 03/04/2016

The Big 12 Conference finalized the seeding for the 2016 Big 12 Wrestling Championship, which is set for March 5-6 at Sprint Center in Kansas City. Oklahoma State leads the way with five top-seeded wrestlers, while Oklahoma tallies behind with two. North Dakota State, South Dakota State and West Virginia all have one wrestler in the top spot.

Wrestling Squads Roll in to Kansas City for Championship
Wrestling 03/04/2016

For the first time in conference history, the ten wrestling teams of the Big 12 Conference will head to Kansas City for the first neutral-site Big 12 Wrestling Championship. Iowa State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State and West Virginia will join affiliates Air Force, Northern Colorado, North Dakota State, South Dakota State, Utah Valley and Wyoming on March 5-6 for two days of riveting competition at Sprint Center.

2016 Academic All-Big 12 Wrestling Team Includes 57 Honorees
Wrestling 03/03/2016

Fifty-seven student-athletes are honored on the 2016 edition of the Academic All-Big 12 Wrestling Team.