Print RSS
Kansas Women, Texas Men Win 2013 Big 12 Track & Field Championship
February 24, 2013

Championship Central

AMES, Iowa  - The Kansas women and Texas men are the 2013 Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Champions. It is the first indoor title in school history for the Jayhawks, while the Longhorns claim their sixth indoor crown.

Kansas finished with a team total of 150.5 points, besting second-place Texas by just 2.5 points. The Jayhawks came into the meet as the highest ranked women's team in the nation at No. 5. Texas posted a team score of 135 points, finishing the meet 26.5 points ahead of runner-up Oklahoma.

Patrick Casey (Oklahoma) won the men's high point scorer award, with 22.5 points at the Championship. The senior claimed his second and third titles of the weekend on Sunday, first winning the one mile run with a time of 4:00. 81. Casey then returned to the track to win the 1,000 meter run, clocking a time of 2:22.39. He was also part of the Sooners' first-place distance medley relay team on day one.

Betsy Saina (Iowa State) garnered the women's high point scorer award for the second straight year with a point total of 30. Saina collected her second title of the meet when she won the one mile run with a time of 4:44. 68. She came back later in the day to edge out teammate Meaghan Nelson in the 3,000 meters for her third victory of the championship.

Tia Brooks (Oklahoma) won the day's first event as she defended her Big 12 title in the shot put with a throw of 60-09.25. The senior broke her own indoor meet record and will try to defend her NCAA title at the national championships next month.

Kansas State's Erik Kynard broke the second Big 12 Championship record of the day in the long jump, clearing a mark of 7-7.00 (2.31m) to take home his third indoor high jump title. Zach Riley finished second in the event to give the Wildcats their first one-two finish in the high jump in school history.

Kennedy Kithuka (Texas Tech) broke his second Big 12 meet record in the 3,000 meters, clocking a new mark of 7:53. The senior set an indoor record in the 5,000 meters on day one.

Kansas' Andrea Geubelle won her second straight triple jump title with a mark of 44-03.25. In the women's high jump, Texas junior  Shanay Briscoe took home the title, clearing a mark of 5-09.25 (1.76m). To round out the day's field events, Baylor freshman Felix Obi won the men's triple jump with a leap of 53-01.00 (16.18m).

Baylor junior Tiffani McReynolds won her third indoor title in the 60 meter hurdles with a time of 8.12. On the men's side, Texas' Keiron Stewart took first with a time of 7.72. Steward set the meet record in 2011 and finished runner-up a year ago. In the women's 400 meters, last year's Big 12 and NCAA champion Diamond Dixon (Kansas) claimed the crown for a second straight year with a time of 52.52.

TCU swept the 60 meter dash as Charles Silmon and Chaniqua Corinealdi each won their respective events. The two victories gave the Frogs their first-ever Big 12 indoor titles.

Baylor picked up three more individual titles as Joe Barb won the men's 600 yard run, Mariah Kelly was victorious in the women's 1,000 meters and Blake Heriot claimed victory in the men's 200 meter dash.

The Bears won the men's 4x400 meter relay in a time of 3:07.91. The Texas women earned the victory in the women's relay with a 3:33.54 mark.

The Texas duo of Johannes Hock and Hayden Baillio snagged victories in the the men's heptathlon and shot put, respectively. Hock finished with a total of 5,858 points. In the shot put, the Longhorns took two of the top three spots, as Baillio tossed a 64-05.00 (19.63m) throw to earn the win. Will Spence followed in the third slot with a throw of 61-05.00 (18.72m).

The 2013 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships are set for March 8-9 at Randal Tyson Track in Fayetteville,Ark.

1. Texas, 135
2. Oklahoma, 108.5
3. Kansas State, 96
4. Baylor, 79
5. Texas Tech, 76
6. Kansas, 74.5
7. Oklahoma State, 73
8. Iowa State, 61
9. TCU, 38

1. Kansas, 150.5
2. Texas, 148
3. Iowa State, 142
4. Baylor, 72
5. Oklahoma State, 48
6. Texas Tech, 43.5
7. Kansas State, 41
8. Oklahoma, 38.5
9. TCU, 37
10. West Virginia, 20.5

< Track
Popular on
Load More