Print RSS
Texas Men, Kansas Women On Top After Day One at 2013 Indoor Championships
February 23, 2013

Championship Central

AMES, Iowa - After the first day of competition at the 2013 Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Championships at the Lied Recreation Center, the Texas men and Kansas women lead the field. The Jayhawk women claimed three victories and have a team total of 67 points, putting them 21 points ahead of second-place Texas. The Longhorn men put up a score of 47, 16.5 points ahead of Kansas.

In the women's field events, Lindsay Vollmer claimed the pentathlon title with a total of 4,123 points, breaking her own school record. Vollmer became the first Jayhawk to win the pentathlon since 1998. Also picking up victories for the Jayhawks were Alena Krechyk (weight throw) and Francine Simpson (long jump). Simpson's jump of 21-7.5 (6.59m) set a Big 12 meet record. Texas' Kaitlin Petrillose took home the title in the women's pole vault, breaking a school record along the way.

On the men's side, Nick Miller (Oklahoma State) claimed the first victory of the day in the weight throw. Kansas junior Alex Bishop won the pole vault, clearing a height of 16-11.5 (5.17m). Wrapping up the day's field events for the men was Kansas State's Jharyl Bowry, who won the long jump title with a mark of 21-09 (7.54m).

After four events in the men's heptathlon, Texas' Johannes Hock is pacing the field with a total of 3,345 points. He is followed by Kansas State's Tomas Kirielius who finished the day with 3,219 points. The heptathlon with continue tomorrow at 11:00 a.m., beginning with the 60 meter hurdles.

Betsy Saina (Iowa State) won the women's 5,000 meters for the thrid year in a row, posting a time of 16:07.19. The Cyclones claimed three of the top five spots in the event as Meaghan Nelson took second while Samantha Bluske finished fifth.

In the men's 5,000 meters, Texas Tech's Kennedy Kithuka set a Big 12 record, clocking a time of 13:41.01. The senior finished more than 16 seconds ahead of second-place finisher, Girma Mecheso (Oklahoma State). Kithuka, who won the 2012 Big 12 Cross Country Championship and NCAA Championship last fall, has yet to lose a race during his career as a Red Raider.

In the final running event of the night, the Oklahoma men won the distance medley relay with a time of 9:42.37. Texas claimed the women's DMR title, beating out Oklahoma State, who had won the event the previous two years.

The Championships wrap up on Sunday, February 24, with a full day of events, starting with the final portions of the heptathlon at 11 a.m. along with the field and running events.


1. Texas, 47.0
2. Kansas, 30.5
3. Kansas State, 26.0

1. Kansas, 67.0
2. Texas, 46.0
3. Iowa State, 44.0

< Track
Popular on
Load More