Print RSS
Oklahoma State Men, Iowa State Women Repeat as Cross Country Champions
November 01, 2014

Cross Country Championship Central

LAWRENCE, Kansas – The Oklahoma State men and Iowa State women took home team titles at the 2014 Big 12 Cross Country Championship. Both squads continued their reign over the conference cross country scene, as the Cowboys secured their seventh-straight Big 12 title, while the Cyclone women won their fourth-consecutive conference title.

The Oklahoma State men totaled 27 team points, with Oklahoma coming in second with 65 points. The runner-up finish for the Sooners was their best finish since 2011. Oklahoma was followed by Iowa State, which took third with 80 points. Texas (84) and Kansas (123) rounded out the top five.

OSU’s Kirubel Erassa took home the men’s crown, completing the 8,000-meter course in a time of 24:08.3. Erassa’s individual title comes a year after a runner-up finish in 2013. Erassa was followed by Oklahoma’s Abbabiya Simbassa (24:11.2) and Texas’ Craig Lutz (24:13.5). The Cowboys had seven runners finish in the top 12.

On the women’s side, Iowa State totaled 29 points to take first place. It was the lowest team score in the women’s race at the conference meet since 2004. West Virginia took second place for the second-consecutive year, with 58 points. The Cyclones and Mountaineers were joined by Baylor (70), Oklahoma State (130) and Oklahoma (154) in the top five.

Iowa State boasted the top two finishers in the women’s race, with Crystal Nelson (19:48.8) taking first after leading for nearly the entire race. Following Nelson was fellow Cyclone Katy Moen (19:58.5) and Baylor’s Rachel Johnson (20:15.1).

Newcomer of the Year honors went to Iowa State’s Margaret Connelly (4th - 20:17.5) and Jacob Morgan of Kansas (5th - 24:16.2).

Next up for the Big 12 cross country season will be regional competitions, which kick off on Nov. 14.

Top 15 Men’s Finishers (All-Big 12 Team)

1.         Kirubel Erassa, Oklahoma State 24:08.3
2.         Abbabiya Simbassa, Oklahoma 24:11.2
3.         Craig Lutz, Texas 24:13.5
4.         Fabian Clarkson, Oklahoma State 24:15.6
5.         Jacob Morgan, Kansas 24:16.2
6.         David Osborn, Oklahoma State 24:24.3
7.         Shane Moskowitz, Oklahoma State 24:24.9
8.         Brandon Doughty, Oklahoma 24:25.4
9.         Craig Nowak, Oklahoma State 24:28.0
10.       Dan Curtis, Iowa State 24:29.3
11.       Cerake Geberkidane, Oklahoma State 24:34.2
12.       Vegard Oelstad, Oklahoma State 24:34.4
13.       Jacob Burcham, Oklahoma 24:34.4
14.       Martin Coolidge, Iowa State 23:37.3
15.       Eduardo Rodriguez, Texas 24:41.5

Top 15 Women’s Finishers (All-Big 12 Team)

1.       Crystal Nelson, Iowa State 19:48.8
2.       Katy Moen, Iowa State 19:58.5
3.       Rachel Johnson, Baylor 20:15.1
4.       Margaret Connelly, Iowa State 20:17.5
5.       Katie Gillespie, West Virginia 20:18.1
6.       Monika Juodeskaite, Oklahoma State 20:22.2
7.       Maggie Montoya, Baylor 20:32.3
8.       Maggie Drazba, West Virginia 20:40.1
9.       Erin Hooker, Iowa State 20:47.3
10.     Brittany Tretbar, Oklahoma 20:49.7
11.     Laura Galvan, Kansas State 20:50.4
12.     Jillian Forsey, West Virginia 20:54.9
13.     Perez Rotich, Iowa State 20:55.2
14.     Mariah Kelly, Baylor 20:55.2
15.     Elena Arriaza, Oklahoma 20:58.3

Newcomer of the Year

Men: Jacob Morgan, Kansas
Women: Margaret Connelly, Iowa State

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More