Print RSS
UT Maintains Control after Day Three of Swimming and Diving Championship
February 27, 2015

Championship Central

Austin, Texas – The University of Texas continued to build on the previous two days of success and swept the event titles for the third consecutive day of competition at the 2015 Big 12 Swimming and Diving Championship.

The evening finals session began with back-to-back meet records falling to Longhorn swimmers in the 400 IM. Texas sophomore Madisyn Cox clocked a 4:05.08 to eclipse the Championship Meet record of 4:05.48 set by Sarah Henry in 2011. On the men’s side, Will Licon clocked a 3:41.88 to best Bryan Collins’ 3:42.86 set in 2010.

The Longhorns continued their torrid pace with sophomore Bryn Wong clocking a 53.49 to claim the women’s 100 butterfly. Jack Conger claimed the men’s title in the event finishing in a time of 44.78, just six hundredths of a second off the meet record set in 2004 by Olympic Champion Ian Crocker. Conger just beat out teammate Joseph Schooling who finished in second place with a time of 44.81.

Texas freshman Sammie Hashbarger won the first event title of her collegiate career in the women’s 200 free with a time of 1:49.95. Longhorn senior Clay Youngquist won the 200 free for the second consecutive year with a time of 1:34.55.

Senior Gretchen Jaques claimed her second event title of 2015 with a time of 58.71 in the 100 breast stroke, before fellow Longhorn Austin Temple collected his first collegiate event title with a 52.71. The freshman was just .75 seconds away from the Big 12 record set in 2003 by Brendan Hansen.

A trio of Longhorn sophomores won the top three podium spots in the women’s 100 yard backstroke as Tasija Karosa finished in a time of 52.54. Yulduz Kuchkarova secured the second spot followed by Rebecca Baxley who finished in 53.41 and 54.36 respectively. Jack Conger picked up his second event title of the evening, the Longhorns' eighth, with his 46.58 finish in on the men’s side.

Texas sophomore Samantha Bromberg secured the women’s three meter diving crown with a score of 368.65, while UT’s Will Chandler claimed the men’s title by tallying a score of 490.20.

The Championship will resume Saturday at 10 a.m. CT with preliminary action. Platform Diving finals are set to begin at 4:30 p.m. while the swimming finals are set for a 6 p.m. start.

Team Standings
1. Texas (741) 2. TCU (505) 3. West Virginia (447)

1. Texas (754.5), 2. Iowa State (413.5), 3. Kansas (366), 4. West Virginia (315) 5. TCU (294)

< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More