Print RSS
Texas Men and Women Win Big 12 Championship
February 28, 2015

Championship Central

Austin, Texas – For the sixth time in ten years, Texas’ Men’s and Women’s Swimming and Diving teams have swept the Big12 Championship. The men have won 19 straight conference titles while the women picked up their third consecutive win Big 12 Swimming and Diving Championships at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center.

The Texas women finished with the highest total points in a Big 12 Championship meet in league history with 1,082.50 points, followed by Iowa State who recorded their highest place finish in the event with 618.50. Kansas (589) and West Virginia (481) finished in third and fourth followed by TCU who claimed 458 total points.

On the men’s side, Texas secured 1,040 points to claim first place followed by TCU and West Virginia who scored 797 and 736 respectively.

Texas sophomore Samantha Bromberg started the finals session with a conference record 411.30 points to win the platform diving contest for UT. She was followed by teammate Emma Ivory-Ganja (337.00) and Iowa State’s Elyse Brouillette who reached the podium with a score of 225.70.

The Longhorns continued to stack up wins as swimming competition got underway beginning with the 200 backstroke. UT’s Tasija Karosas won the event on the women’s side clocking a 1:52.74, before sophomore Jack Conger won his third event title with a meet record 1:39.70.

Texas freshman Rebecca Millard claimed the 100 free with a time of 48.84 followed by teammate Mimi Schneider who clocked a 49.74. Another UT freshman won the event on the men’s side as Brett Ringgold held off Tim Squires of West Virginia (43.43) to touch in 42.82.

Gretchen Jaques of Texas claimed the women’s title in the 200 breaststroke touching in 2:08.94 before Will Licon broke the men’s big 12 record racing in at 1:51.77.

After recording the teams highest finish in a Big 12 Championship Meet, Iowa State head coach Duane Sorenson earned Women’s Coach of the Meet accolades while Texas’ Eddie Reese took the honors on the men’s side. Texas’ Matt Scoggin claimed Diving Coach of the Meet recognition for both men’s and women’s diving.

Big 12 swimming and diving athletes will now head to the NCAA Championships. The women’s meet will be held at the Greensboro Aquatic Center in Greensboro, N.C., March 19-21. The men’s meet will be held in Iowa City, Iowa and is slated for Mach 26-28.



Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet: Jack Conger (Texas)
Outstanding Diver of the Meet: Will Chandler (Texas)
Outstanding Newcomer of the Meet: Joseph Schooling (Texas)
Swim Coach of the Meet: Eddie Reese (Texas)
Dive Coach of the Meet: Matt Scoggin (Texas)

Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet: Gretchen Jaques (Texas)
Outstanding Diver of the Meet: Samantha Bromberg (Texas)
Outstanding Newcomer of the Meet: Kasey Roberts (Iowa State)
Swim Coach of the Meet: Duane Sorenson (Iowa State)
Dive Coach of the Meet: Matt Scoggin (Texas)

Team Standings
1. Texas (1,082.5) 2. TCU (797) 3. West Virginia (736)

1. Texas (1,082.5), 2. Iowa State (618.5), 3. Kansas (589), 4. West Virginia (481) 5. TCU (458)

< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More