Print RSS
Oklahoma State and TCU Take Big 12 Tennis Championship
May 01, 2016

Oklahoma State and TCU are the Big 12 Tennis Champions following victories in both the men’s and women’s title matches on Sunday afternoon in Stillwater. TCU’s men’s squad earned a 4-2 victory over Texas Tech, while the Cowgirls picked up the 4-0 sweep over the Tech women.

For the first time since joining the Big 12, the Horned Frogs have won the Big 12 Championship, as the Cowgirls clinched their first Big 12 Championship title since 2003.

Viktoriya Lushkova (Oklahoma State) and Cameron Norrie (TCU) were named Most Outstanding Performers for their impressive individual showings in the event.

In the men’s title match, Texas Tech jumped out to an early 1-0 lead, taking the doubles point. Alex Sendegeya and Bjorn Thomson topped Reese Stalder and Hudson Blake, 7-5, while Felipe Soares and Connor Curry dispatched Trevor Johnson and Guillermo Nunez, 6-4. The Horned Frogs came roaring back during singles competition, taking four of five matches. Norrie, Alex Rybakov, Jerry Lopez and Trevor Johnson picked up wins for TCU, while Sendegeya took the lone singles point for Tech.

In the women’s title match, Oklahoma State controlled the match from the start, opening with the doubles point. Lushkova and Carla Tur Mari defeated Felicity Maltby and Sabrina Federici, 6-2, while Katarina Adamovic and Vladica Babic took care of Sarah Dvorak and Katelyn Jackson, 7-5. The Cowgirls sealed the match, sweeping the singles as well. Adamovic, Babic and Lushkova won their matches in straight sets to take the title.

Conference squads will learn their NCAA fate on Tuesday afternoon as the men’s bracket will be announced at 4:30 p.m. CT, while the women’s bracket will be announced at 4 pm CT on

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More