Print RSS
Baylor Reins in the Crown
March 25, 2017


Waco, Texas - For the second time in three years, Baylor captures the Big 12 Equestrian Championship crown. BU clinched the 2017 title by topping Oklahoma State, 11-7, while TCU took the bronze.

Baylor jumped out to an early 3-2 lead on Equitation over Fences and went into the second half of competition leading 6-4. After a strong performance on Equitation on the Flat, the Bears extended their lead past any comeback from OSU. BU took eight of the 10 available points in Hunt Seat including all five points in Equitation on the Flat. Oklahoma State won the Western events by taking five team points, but Baylor fended off the Cowgirls to take the crown.

Round two between TCU and Oklahoma State concluded this morning. The Cowgirls had a 7-2 lead going into today’s last two events. OSU pulled out the 11-8 victory after winning the western events 7-2.

Following Saturday’s competition, the All-Big 12 team and regular season winners were announced, along with the 2017 Most Outstanding Performer honors. TCU’s Carley Barnett (Equitation over Fences) and Kari Hancock (Equitation on the Flat) along with Oklahoma State’s Miranda Reed (Horsemanship) and Ebba Lange (Reining) earned MOP awards. Baylor’s Savannah Jenkins (Equitation on the Flat), OSU’s Hannah Mitchell (Reining), TCU’s Jayme Omand (Equitation over Fences) and Megan McMullen (Horsemanship) took home Rider of the Year accolades as well. Oklahoma State’s Larry Sanchez was named Coach of the Year.

League squads will resume competition April 13-15 during the NCEA Championship, hosted by Baylor in Waco, Texas.

2017 Big 12 Equestrian Championship Awards
Equitation over Fences: Carley Barnett, TCU
Equitation on the Flat: Kari Hancock, TCU
Horsemanship: Maranda Reed, Oklahoma State
Reining: Ebba Lange, Oklahoma State

All-Big 12 Team

Equitation Over Fences:
Alicia Gasser, Sr., Baylor
Savannah Jenkins, Sr., Baylor
Carly Barrick, Jr., Oklahoma State
Jayme Omand, Jr., TCU

Equitation On The Flat:
Rachel Van Allen, Jr., Baylor
Savannah Jenkins, Sr., Baylor
Maggie Drych, Sr., Oklahoma State
Kari Hancock, Sr., TCU

Abbi Demel, So., Baylor
Kaylee Mellott, So., Baylor
Aspen Crew, So., Baylor
Megan McMullen, Sr., TCU

Elizabeth Shank, Sr., Baylor
Hannah Mitchell, Fr., Oklahoma State
Danielle Cohen, Jr., Oklahoma State
Ebba Lang, Jr., Oklahoma State

Equitation over Fences ROY: Jayme Omand, TCU

Equitation on the Flat ROY: Savannah Jenkins, Baylor

Horsemanship ROY: Megan McMullen, TCU

Reining ROY: Hannah Mitchell, Oklahoma State

Coach Of The Year: Larry Sanchez, Oklahoma State

< Equestrian
Popular on
Load More