Print RSS
Oklahoma State Wins Wrestling Title
March 07, 2015


AMES, Iowa – The Oklahoma State Cowboys were crowned Big 12 Wresting Champions for the fourth time in five years on Saturday. The Cowboys claimed their 13th team title since the inception of the league, prior to the 1997 season.

OSU sent seven student-athletes to the finals, and entered the championship round trailing host Iowa State by two team points. Iowa State sent six wrestlers to the finals, while West Virginia had four men going for titles and Oklahoma had three. West Virginia’s four finalists are the most since the Mountaineers joined the Big 12.

The night's finals were a sign of good things to come for OSU, as No. 1 seed Eddie Klimara defeated WVU’s Zeke Moisey, 5-3. It was the second conference title of Klimara’s career, as the 125-pounder also stood atop the podium in 2013.

In one of the night’s more anticipated matches, Cody Brewer of Oklahoma defeated Iowa State’s Earl Hall, by way of a 10-5 decision. Brewer came into the tournament ranked No. 5 nationally, while Hall is No. 4.

At 141 pounds, Dean Heil gave the Cowboys another title in dominating fashion. The freshman pinned ISU’s Dante Rodriguez, another freshman, in 4:49. It was the first of four finals matches that would pit a Cowboy against a Cyclone, with OSU coming out on top all four times.

In the main event, the country’s top two 165 pounders squared off in Oklahoma State’s Alex Dieringer and Iowa State’s Michael Moreno. Dieringer, who won the NCAA title at 157 pounds last year, remained unbeaten in dominant fashion, with a 14-4 major decision. Dieringer was named the Outstanding Wrestler of the Meet by the conference’s head coaches.

Iowa State senior Kyven Gadson became a three-time Big 12 Champion at 197 pounds against Jake A. Smith of West Virginia. Gadson is currently ranked No. 2 nationally at 197, and has been an All-American the past two years.

Next up for the league’s wrestlers is the NCAA Championship in St. Louis, Mo. at the Scottrade Center on March 19.


125 Pounds: No. 1 Eddie Klimara (OSU) dec. No. 2 Zeke Moisey (WVU), 5-3

133 Pounds: No. 2 Cody Brewer (OU) dec. No. 1 Earl Hall (ISU), 10-5

141 Pounds: No. 1 Dean Heil (OSU) fall No. 3 Dante Rodriguez (ISU), (4:49)

149 Pounds: No. 3 Shayne Tucker (OU) dec. No. 4 Roman Perryman (WVU), 8-6

157 Pounds: No. 1 Anthony Collica (OSU) dec. No. 2 Justin DeAngelis (OU), 3-2

165 Pounds: No. 1 Alex Dieringer (OSU) mdec. No. 2 Michael Moreno (ISU), 14-4

174 Pounds: No. 1 Kyle Crutchmer (OSU) dec. No. 3 Tanner Weatherman (ISU), 3-3 RT TB-2

184 Pounds: No. 2 Nolan Boyd dec. No. 1 Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU), 2-1

197 Pounds: No. 1 Kyven Gadson (ISU) mdec. No. 2 Jake A. Smith (WVU), 10-2

285 Pounds: No. 1 Austin Marsden (OSU) dec. No. 3 A.J. Vizcarrondo (WVU), 7-0


1. Oklahoma State - 92
2. Iowa State - 68
3. Oklahoma - 43
4. West Virginia - 35
2014 Most Outstanding Wrestler: Alex Dieringer, Oklahoma State, 165 lbs

< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More