Print RSS
Oklahoma State Cruises to Big 12 Equestrian Title
March 26, 2016


For the fourth time in five seasons Oklahoma State has taken the Big 12 Equestrian Championship crown. The Cowgirls clinched the 2016 title topping Baylor, 13-6, while TCU defeated Kansas State, 11-8, to clinch the bronze.

OSU jumped out to an early 3-2 lead on Equitation over Fences, as junior Maggie Drysch tallied an event-high score of 182. The Cowgirls then extended their advantage to 7-3, posting a 4-1 win on the flat. Every OSU competitor scored no lower than 156 on the event. The two squads both tallied a couple of points in Horsemanship, before Oklahoma State clinched the victory with a 4-1 win in Reining.

In the third place match, K-State took a 3-2 lead on fences, before TCU countered with a 3-1 victory on the flat. At the end of the hunter seat the Horned Frogs held a slim 5-4 lead. TCU then extended their lead with a 4-1 advantage in the Horsemanship event. Kansas State’s Danielle Kemper tallied an event-high 148. The two squads finished out the match, with K-State earning a 3-2 advantage in Reining, but the Wildcats could not catch TCU, falling by the tally 8-11.

Following Saturday’s competition, the All-Big 12 team and regular season winners were announced, along with the 2016 Most Outstanding Performer honors. Baylor’s Savannah Jenkins (Equitation over Fences) and Kaylee Mellott (Horsemanship) along with TCU’s Carley Barnett (Equitation on the Flat) and Chantz Stewart (Reining) earned MOP awards. Baylor’s Alicia Gasser (Equitation on the Flat), OSU’s Ty Paris (Horsemanship), TCU’s Molly Peddicord (Equitation over Fences) and Chantz Stewart (Reining) took home Rider of the Year accolades as well. Kansas State’s Casie Maxwell was named Coach of the Year.

League squads will resume competition April 13-16 during the NCEA Championship, hosted by Baylor in Waco, Texas. Rankings and brackets will be announced April 1. 

2016 Big 12 Equestrian Championship Awards

Equitation over Fences: Savannah Jenkins, Baylor

Equitation on the Flat: Carley Barnett, TCU

Horsemanship: Kaylee Mellott, Baylor

Reining: Chantz Stewart, TCU

All-Big 12 Team

Equitation Over Fences:

Carly Barrick, So., Oklahoma State

Savannah Jenkins, Jr., Baylor

Paige Parker, Sr., Baylor

Molly Peddicord, Jr., TCU

Equitation On The Flat:

Jorden Davis, Jr., Oklahoma State

Alicia Gasser, Jr., Baylor

Savannah Jenkins, Jr., Baylor

Molly Peddicord, Jr., TCU


Mary Brown, Sr., Baylor

Charlotte Green, So., Baylor

Megan McMullen, Jr., TCU

Ty Paris, Sr., Oklahoma State


Ginger Chant, Jr., Baylor

Ebba Lange, So., Oklahoma State

Elizabeth Shank, Jr., Baylor

Chantz Stewart, Sr., TCU

Equitation Over Fences ROY: Molly Peddicord, Jr., TCU

Equitation On The Flat ROY: Alicia Gasser, Jr., Baylor

Horsemanship ROY: Ty Paris, Sr., Oklahoma State

Reining ROY: Chantz Stewart, Sr., TCU

Coach Of The Year: Casie Maxwell, Kansas State

< Equestrian
Popular on
Load More