Print RSS
March 01, 2002
DALLAS -- Kansas State's Deb Patterson was named Big 12 Conference Coach of the Year, and Oklahoma senior Stacey Dales was selected as Big 12 Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, highlighting the 2002 All-Big 12 Conference Team voted on by the league's head coaches and released Friday by the conference office.

Patterson was honored by her peers after leading the Wildcats to a tie for third in the Big 12 regular season race with an 11-5 mark and current overall record of 23-6 heading into the Big 12 Tournament. The Wildcats improved their conference win total by nine games this season after finishing tied for 11th last year at 2-14. KSU entered the national rankings on Jan. 7 and has been ranked eight consecutive weeks, including two weeks in the top 10 of the Associated Press poll. The Wildcats' AP poll debut at No. 14 was the highest debut during the season since the poll expanded from 20 to 25 teams in 1989.

Dales, a 6-0 guard from Brockville, Ontario, Canada, helped lead the Sooners to their third straight Big 12 Conference regular season title and second outright. OU finished the conference season at 14-2 and is currently 24-3 overall. Dales is eighth in the league in scoring with 16.7 points, fifth in assists with 4.96 and fifth in assist/turnover ratio with a 1.52. In conference-only games, Dales was sixth in scoring (17.5), seventh in assists (4.94), seventh in assist/turnover ratio (1.46), ninth in free throw percentage (85.1) and tied for ninth in offensive rebounds (2.56).

Nebraska's Keasha Cannon was named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year after garnering the same honor in the preseason poll. The 5-10 junior guard from Kansas City, Kan., is 18th in the Big 12 in scoring with 13.1 points and fourth in rebounding with 8.4 boards per outing. She is also eighth in steals (2.08), 12th in assists (3.96), fifth in offensive rebounds (3.15), and seventh in defensive rebounds (5.27). In conference-only games, Cannon is 16th in scoring (13.8), sixth in rebounding (8.5), 11th in free throw percentage (83.7), 14th in assists (3.20), 15th in steals (1.73), fifth in offensive rebounds (3.07), and ninth in defensive rebounds (5.40).

Texas' Heather Schreiber was named Big 12 Freshman of the Year. The 6-2 forward from Windthorst, Texas, is 15th in the league in scoring (14.4), tied for 15th in rebounding (6.0), eighth in free throw percentage (84.5), seventh in three-point field goal percentage (40.7), tied for 15th in offensive rebounds (2.11), and 10th in three-point field goals made (1.63). In conference-only games, Schreiber is 14th in scoring (15.1), 16th in rebounding (6.1), tied for fourth in free throw percentage (88.1), and seventh in three-point field goal percentage (40.0).

Joining Dales on the All-Big 12 first team are: Sheila Lambert and Danielle Crockrom, Baylor; Nicole Ohlde, Kansas State; and Angie Welle, Iowa State. Dales, Lambert, Crockrom and Welle were 2001 All-Big 12 first team members while Ohlde was the 2001 Big 12 Freshman of the Year. The complete All-Big 12 Conference team follows:

2001-02 All-Big 12 Conference Women's Basketball Team

First Team

Stacey Dales, Oklahoma G 6-0 Sr Brockville, Ontario, Canada

Sheila Lambert, Baylor G 5-7 Sr Seattle, Wash.

Nicole Ohlde, Kansas State F/C 6-4 So Clay Center, Kan.

Angie Welle, Iowa State C 6-4 Sr Fargo, N.D.

Danielle Crockrom, Baylor F 6-2 Sr Houston, Texas

Second Team

LaNeishea Caufield, Oklahoma G 5-9 Sr Ada, Okla.

Jia Perkins, Texas Tech G 5-8 So Granbury, Texas

Stacy Stephens, Texas F/C 6-1 So Winnsboro, Texas

Mandy Nightingale, Colorado G 5-6 Sr Sapulpa, Okla.

Lindsey Wilson, Iowa State G 5-9 Jr Seattle, Wash.


Third Team

Caton Hill, Oklahoma F 6-1 Jr Ada, Okla.

Jenny Roulier, Colorado G 5-9 Sr Englewood, Colo.

Laurie Koehn, Kansas State G 5-8 Fr Hesston, Kan.

Kendra Wecker, Kansas State F 5-11 Fr Marysville, Kan.

*Tracy Gahan, Iowa State G 6-0 Sr McKinney, Texas

*Rosalind Ross, Oklahoma G 5-9 Sr Milwaukee, Wis.

*Tied for Position


Honorable Mention

Evan Unrau and Kerensa Barr, Missouri; Keasha Cannon, Nebraska; Trisha Skibbe, Oklahoma State; Heather Schreiber, Texas; Toccara Williams and Meg Banahan, Texas A&M; and Amber Tarr, Texas Tech


Big 12 Coach of the Year: Deb Patterson,Kansas State

Big 12 Player of the Year: Stacey Dales, Oklahoma

Big 12 Newcomer of the Year: Keasha Cannon,Nebraska, G, 5-10, Jr, Kansas City, Kan.

Big 12 Freshman of the Year: Heather Schreiber, Texas, F, 6-2, Windthorst, Texas



Joni James

Assistant Director of Media Relations

Big 12 Conference




< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More