Print RSS
Big 12 Announces 2002-03 Women's Basketball All-Conference Honors
March 07, 2003

March 7, 2003

DALLAS -- Texas' Jody Conradt was named Big 12 Conference Coach of the Year and Kansas State junior Nicole Ohlde was selected as Big 12 Player of the Year, highlighting the 2003 All-Big 12 Conference Team voted on by the league's head coaches and released Friday by the conference office.

Conradt led the Longhorns to their first Big 12 women's basketball title in 2003 and 11th league title overall. Texas is currently 22-5 on the year and ranked fifth nationally by the Associated Press. The Longhorns completed the conference season at 15-1 with their lone loss at Kansas State, 71-69 on Jan. 25. UT enters the Phillips 66 Big 12 Women's Basketball Tournament as the No. 1 seed riding a 10-game win streak.

Ohlde, a 6-4 junior forward/center, helped lead Kansas State to a second place finish in the Big 12 race at 14-2. The Wildcats are 27-3 on the year and ranked fourth in the AP Poll. The Clay Center, Kan., native leads the Big 12 with 14 double-doubles on the year. She is third in the league in scoring with 18.7 points-per-game and second in rebounding with 9.1 per outing. She is also second in field goal percentage, connecting on 57.0 percent of her shots (219-384) and third with 1.90 blocks per game. In conference-only games, Ohlde finished second in scoring and rebounding with 19.4 ppg and 9.4 rpg. She was first in field goal percentage (56.9), fourth in blocks (1.69), and tied for first in double-doubles (7) with Baylor's Sophia Young and Texas' Stacy Stephens.

Joining Ohlde on the All-Big 12 Conference first team were teammates Kendra Wecker and Megan Mahoney in addition to Plenette Pierson and Jia Perkins, Texas Tech; Stephens and Heather Schreiber, Texas; Lindsey Wilson, Iowa State, Tera Bjorklund, Colorado; and Evan Unrau, Missouri.

Texas' Jamie Carey was selected Big 12 Newcomer of the Year. The 5-6 junior guard averages 11.1 ppg and 3.55 assists-per-game on the year. She is third in the Big 12 with 1.86 three-pointers made per game, tied for first with Texas Tech's Erin Grant in assist-turnover ratio (2.0), and sixth in three-point field goal percentage (43.6). In league games, the Thornton, Colo., native averaged 10.9 points, 3.94 assists, and 1.81 three-pointers per game. She was third in the conference in field goal percentage (86.2), fourth in three-point percentage (45.3) and second in assist/turnover ratio (1.9).

Oklahoma's Chelsi Welch and Texas Tech's Erin Grant were Co-Freshmen of the Year. Welch, a 5-9 guard from Plainview, Texas, helped lead OU to a fifth-place league finish. She averages 12.1 ppg and is among conference leaders in free throw percentage (81.0) and three-pointers made per game (1.34). In Big 12 games, Welch averaged 14.2 ppg and 1.69 three-pointers per outing. She was second in the league with an 87.1 free throw percentage.

Grant helped Texas Tech to a third place league finish from her point guard position. She currently leads the conference in assists (6.93) and is tied for the lead with Carey in assist-turnover ratio (2.0). The 5-8 Arlington, Texas, native, also led the Big 12 in conference-only games in assists (6.19) and was third in assist-turnover ratio (1.7). If Grant ends the season as the Big 12 assists leader she would be the first freshman to do so in the league's seven-year history.

All of these student-athletes will appear with their teams in the Phillips 66 Big 12 Women's Basketball Tournament next week in Dallas' Reunion Arena. Games will be played Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, March 11-14 and 15. The complete All-Big 12 Team follows.

First Team
Nicole Ohlde, Kansas State
Kendra Wecker, Kansas State
Plenette Pierson, Texas Tech
Stacy Stephens, Texas
Heather Schreiber, Texas
Jia Perkins, Texas Tech
Lindsey Wilson, Iowa State
Tera Bjorklund, Colorado
Evan Unrau, Missouri
Megan Mahoney, Kansas State

Second Team
Steffanie Blackmon, Baylor
Trisha Skibbe, Oklahoma State
Toccara Williams, Texas A&M
Dionnah Jackson, Oklahoma
Chelsi Welch, Oklahoma

Honorable Mention
Sophia Young, Baylor; Sabrina Scott and Linda Lappe, Colorado; Kerensa Barr, Missouri; Alexa Johnson, Nebraska

Big 12 Coach of the Year: Jody Conradt, Texas
Big 12 Player of the Year: Nicole Ohlde, Kansas State
Big 12 Newcomer of the Year: Jamie Carey, Texas, G, 5-6, Junior, Thornton, Colorado
Co-Big 12 Freshmen of the Year: Chelsi Welch, Oklahoma, G, 5-9, Plainview, Texas and Erin Grant, Texas Tech, G, 5-8, Arlington, Texas

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More