Print RSS
Iowa State Finishes Third at NCAA Wrestling Championship
March 20, 2010
OMAHA, Neb. - Iowa State crowned two individual champions and finished third in the team standings at the NCAA Wrestling Championship in Omaha, Neb.

Jake Varner and David Zabriskie won individual titles at 197 pounds and heavyweight, respectively, to lead the Cyclones to the third-place finish. ISU crowned three All-Americans in total, with 125-pounder Andrew Long taking runner-up honors.

Max Askren (Missouri) earned the individual national title at 184 pounds. In addition to Askren, Mark Ellis collected his second All-America honor, finishing sixth at heavyweight.

Oklahoma finished fourth and boasted four All-Americans - Zack Bailey (141), Kyle Terry (149), Tyler Caldwell (165) and Eric Lapotsky (197) - at the Championships, its most since earning five in 2006.

OSU’s Jared Rosholt took second place behind Zabriskie and was joined by teammates Jordan Oliver, Clayton Foster and Alan Gelogaev as 2010 Cowboy All-Americans. Oliver placed fourth at 133 pounds, Foster was sixth at 184 pounds and Gelogaev was seventh at 197 pounds.

Nebraska's Brester and Stephen Dwyer each earned All-America honors.

Iowa won the national title with 134.5 points.

Team Standings

3. Iowa State, 75.0
5. Oklahoma, 69.0
6. Oklahoma State, 65.0
10. Missouri, 48.0
T12. Nebraska, 39.5
< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More