Print RSS
Oklahoma Take Third Consecutive Big 12 Gymnastics Championship
March 27, 2010

Championship Central  |  Complete Results  |  Photo Gallery

LINCOLN, Neb. – The Oklahoma Sooners claimed their third straight Big 12 Gymnastics Championship title with a score of 197.175 on Saturday at the University of Nebraska’s Bob Devaney Center.  This marks OU’s fourth crown (2004, ‘08-‘10) overall in conference history.

The Sooners’ team total landed ahead of runner-up Nebraska (196.625). Missouri (195.900) and Iowa State (194.850) wrapped up the results.

Mizzou’s Sarah Shire captured the all-around title with a mark of 39.50, her second at a Big 12 Championship. The senior also tied for first on vault (9.90) and placed second on bars (9.875). Shire, the No. 1 ranked gymnast in the country, has posted 10 all-around wins this season and 23 for her career.
In league-record fashion, the vault event saw a seven-way tie. Nebraska trio Maddie Steinauer, Lora Evenstad and Erin Davis joined Oklahoma trio Jackie Flanery, Brie Olson and Natalie Ratcliff along with Missouri’s Shire to share the crown with a score of 9.90.

Hollie Vise captured three crowns, placing first on bars (9.90), beam (9.925) and tying on floor (9.90). The senior was the third gymnast in Big 12 history to win three individual titles at a championship. Fellow Sooner Flanery and Nebraska’s Evenstad also matched Vise’s mark on floor.

In the all-around, Maria Scaffidi represented the Huskers in second place (39.25) while another Tiger, Danielle Guider, earned third (38.95).

At the conclusion of the meet, the conference also announced the annual awards as determined by a pre-championship vote of the league’s head coaches.

Shire was recognized as Gymnast of the Year for a second consecutive season. She shared co-honors last year. Oklahoma’s Natasha Kelley was named Newcomer of the Year, becoming the first Sooner to garner the accolade.

OU’s K.J. Kindler took home the Big 12 Coach of the Year award for the fifth time in her career, her second as head coach of the Sooners.
The All-Big 12 Championship team was selected at the conference championship, which included the top four finishers plus ties from each event and the all-around competition.


Team Vault Bars Beam Floor Total
Oklahoma 49.450 49.225 49.10 49.40 197.175
Nebraska 49.40 49.050 49.00 49.175 196.625
Missouri 49.225 48.650 48.850 49.175 195.900
Iowa State 48.575 48.825 48.725 48.725 194.850


Vault: Maddie Steinauer, Nebraska (9.90), Lora Evenstad, Nebraska (9.90), Erin Davis, Nebraska (9.90), Jackie Flanery, Oklahoma (9.90), Brie Olson, Oklahoma (9.90), Natalie Ratcliff, Oklahoma (9.90), Sarah Shire, Missouri (9.90)

Bars: Hollie Vise, Oklahoma (9.90), Sarah Shire, Missouri (9.875), Lora Evenstad, Nebraska (9.850), Jackie Flanery, Oklahoma (9.850), Megan Ferguson, Oklahoma (9.850), Ceilia Maccani, Iowa State (9.850)
Beam: Hollie Vise, Oklahoma (9.925), Kassandra Nathe, Nebraska (9.875), Kristin Smith, Oklahoma (9.875), Sarah Shire, Missouri (9.850)

Floor: Lora Evenstad, Nebraska (9.90), Hollie Vise, Oklahoma (9.90), Jackie Flanery, Oklahoma (9.90), Kayla Nowak, Oklahoma (9.875), Kristin Smith, Oklahoma (9.875), Sarah Shire, Missouri (9.875)

All-Around: Sarah Shire, Missouri (39.50), Maria Scaffidi, Nebraska (39.250), Danielle Guider, Missouri (38.950), Celine Paulus, Iowa State (38.90)


2010 BIG 12 AWARDS
Gymnast of the Year: Sarah Shire, Missouri
Newcomer of the Year: Natasha Kelley, Oklahoma
Coach of the Year: KJ Kindler, Oklahoma

< Gymnastics
Popular on
Load More