Print RSS
Oklahoma State Captures Title At Big 12 Menís Golf Championship
April 27, 2011

HUTCHINSON, Kan. - The Oklahoma State men's golf team captured its fifth-straight team title at the 2011 Big 12 Men's Golf Championship at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kan. This is the ninth Conference title overall for the Cowboys.

The Cowboys were able to persevere through the week's toughest weather conditions yet, posting a final-round score of 294 (+14) and a four-day total of 1,139 (+19). OSU had three players finish in the top four and all five players placed in the top 26.

Oklahoma State's 13-shot margin of victory tied for the third-largest margin and marked the fourth consecutive year the Cowboys have won by 13 shots or more. Texas A&M took runner-up with a team score of 1,152 (+32), including four Aggies in the top 11 spots individually. Texas finished in third (+40), Texas Tech (+43) took fourth and Missouri (+53) rounded out the top five.

Morgan Hoffmann (OSU) took home his second Big 12 individual title (2009) with his score of even-par (70-69-68-73=280). The junior was tied for the lead following day one but played consistently and never relinquished it. The Wyckoff, N.J.-native began the final day with a three-shot lead over fellow teammate Kevin Tway and despite carding his highest round of the event, was able to stay ahead of the field for the win. The individual victory was the seventh for the Cowboys since 1997. Tway finished second (66-73-71-75=285).

Joining Hoffman and Tway on the All-Tournament Team were Jordan Russell (TAMU), Stuart Ballingall (MU), Chandler Rusk (TTU), Peter Uihlein (OSU), Ignacio Elvira (TAMU), Will Griffin (TTU), Toni Hakula (UT) and Conrad Shindler (TAMU).  The top 10 finishers are named to the squad. 

Team Results
1. Oklahoma State  283-292-270-294=1139
2. Texas A&M  286-296-275-295=1152
3. Texas  287-291-284-298=1160
4. Texas Tech  286-299-281-297=1163
5. Missouri  300-302-276-295=1173
6. Oklahoma  287-292-288-311=1178
7. Baylor  296-299-291-297=1183
8 Nebraska  286-303-297-308=1194
9. Kansas  290-303-286-317=1196
10. Colorado  291-307-293-317=1208
T11. Kansas State  296-306-29320=1220
T11. Iowa State  302-305-293-320=1220

Individual Leaderboard (All-Tournament Team)
1. Morgan Hoffmann, OSU  70-69-68-73=280
2. Kevin Tway, OSU  66-73-71-75=285
3. Jordan Russell, TAMU  77-69-66-74=286
T4. Stuart Ballingall, MU  74-73-68-73=288
T4. Chandler Rusk, TTU  71-73-69-75=288
T4. Peter Uihlein, OSU  74-75-69-70=288
T4. Ryan Sirman, OU  66-74-73=213
T7. Will Griffin, TTU  73-71-71-74=289
T7. Ignacio Elvira, TAMU  69-77-71-72=289
T7. Toni Hakula, UT  72-74-72-71=289
T7. Conrad Shindler, TAMU  71-74-69-75=289

< Golf
Popular on
Load More