Print RSS
Iowa State Women, Oklahoma State Men Earn 2011 Cross Country Crowns
October 29, 2011
Cross Country Championship Central

COLLEGE STATION, Texas -- The Iowa State women and Oklahoma State men have claimed the 2011 Big 12 Cross Country Championship crowns. This marks the fourth-straight title for the Cowboys and first-ever for the Cyclones.

For the men, OSU totaled 30 points, while Oklahoma checked in at second with 43, the highest finish all-time for the Sooners. Texas (87), Texas A&M (102) and Iowa State (137) rounded out the top five men's teams.

The Cowboys were paced by the senior duo of German Fernandez and Colby Lowe, who took the top spots in the 8k race. Top finisher Fernandez, who also claimed first at the 2008 Championship, recorded a time of 23:25.4, the second best finish all-time at the event. Adam Goucher's (Colorado) mark of 23:25 in 1997 ranks as the first. Lowe finished in 23:25.8.

Texas A&M's Henry Lelei finished in third place to claim the Newcomer of the Year honor. The junior transfer from Central Arizona recorded a mark of 23:29.7. OSU placed five finishers in the top 15, while Oklahoma totaled six and Texas had two.

On the women's side, Caroline Jeptling and Rose Tanui (Texas Tech) claimed first and third place in the 6k, respectively, but Iowa State took the crown with 68 points. Texas finished second at 83, followed by Oklahoma State (86), Missouri (125) and Texas Tech (126). The Cyclones' Meaghan Nelson finished in second place, one of three from ISU to record a top 15 finish. With the win, Iowa State snapped Texas Tech's string of three-straight titles.

Jeptling's first-place mark of 19:30.3 is the best since 2007, and she is the fifth Lady Raider to win the race. Along with the Cyclones, TTU also placed three finishers in the top 15 while Oklahoma State and Texas placed a pair. Freshman Monika Juodeskaite (Oklahoma State) earned the Newcomer of the Year award with a time of 20:21.3.

The top 15 finishers on each side earn All-Big 12 honors.

NCAA Cross Country Regionals will take place on Saturday, Nov. 12, with the NCAA Championships slated for Monday, Nov. 21 at the Gibson Championship Course in Terra Haute, Ind. The Oklahoma State men have captured the past two national championships, while the Texas Tech women placed third last year.

TOP 15 MEN'S FINISHERS (All-Big 12 Team)
1. German Fernandez, Oklahoma State, 23:25.4
2. Colby Lowe, Oklahoma State, 23:25.8
3. Henry Lelei, Texas A&M, 23:29.7*
4. Craig Lutz, Texas, 23:32.1
5. Shadrack Kipchirchir, Oklahoma State, 23:34.8
6. Bill Kogel, Oklahoma, 23:36.7
7. Jeremy Sudbury, Oklahoma, 23:48.9
8. Tom Farrell, Oklahoma State, 23:51.6
9. Kevin Schwab, Oklahoma, 23:57.8
10. George Alex, Oklahoma, 24:00.1
11. Kevin Williams, Oklahoma, 24:04.9
12. Rico Loy, Iowa State, 24:08.0
13. Eric Harasyn, Oklahomna, 24:08.4
14. Joseph Manilafasha, Oklahoma State, 24:08.7
15. Ryan Dohner, Texas, 24:09.1

TOP 15 WOMEN'S FINISHERS (All-Big 12 Team)
1. Caroline Jepleting, Texas Tech, 19:30.3
2. Meaghan Nelson, Iowa State, 19:33.8
3. Rose Tanui, Texas Tech, 19:43.4
4. Natalja Piliusina, Oklahoma State, 19:45.9
5. Jessica Engel, Oklahoma, 19:47.1
6. Dani Stack, Iowa State, 19:49.5
7. Rebeka Stowe, Kansas, 19:52.3
8. Marielle Hall, Texas, 19:52.3
9. Martina Tresch, Kansas State, 19:56.0
10. Purity Biwott, Texas Tech, 20:01.3
11. Sara Sutherland, Texas, 20:02.5
12. Natosha Rogers, Texas A&M, 20:06.9
13. Betsy Saina, Iowa State, 20:09.9
14. Bailey Belvis, Missouri, 20:16.2
15. Monika Juodeskaite, Oklahoma State, 20:21.3*

*Newcomers of the Year

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More