Print RSS
Big 12 Sends 33 Wrestlers To NCAA Championship
March 13, 2012


A total of 33 Big 12 wrestlers will be competing this week at the 2012 NCAA Championships in St. Louis, Mo. Five Iowa State Cyclones, 10 Missouri grapplers, nine Oklahoma Sooners and nine Oklahoma State wrestlers make up the Big 12’s contingent.

Big 12 postseason champion Missouri is the only school in the country to send all 10 of its starters to this year’s event. Oklahoma State, the league’s regular season champion, will be going for its 35th national title in program history.

Each of the 10 weight classes features 33 wrestlers with the top 12 of those being seeded at the event. The Big 12 represents with 10 seeded wrestlers, including seven top-5 seeds. Oklahoma State’s Jordan Oliver is the lone No. 1 seeded grappler from the league as he looks to repeat on last season’s national title season.

The Conference received three At-Large Qualifiers, after getting in 30 wrestlers, who qualified automatically with their finishes in the Big 12 Championship.

The at-large selections were made by the NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee using the following selection criteria without priority order: head-to-head competition, qualifying event placement, quality wins, results against common opponents, winning percentage, rating percentage index, coaches ranking and number of matches contested at that weight class.

Over its history, the Big 12 has had four team National Champions and 48 individual NCAA winners. All four team titles belong to OSU, while the Cowboys also lead the way in individual crowns with 19.

This year’s Championship will take place at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Mo. The action gets underway on Thursday morning and continues until a champion is crowned in each weight class on Saturday night. and ESPNU will have the broadcast of the early round action and ESPN will televise the championship round live at 6:30 p.m.

NCAA At-Large Qualifiers
Luke Goettl, Iowa State, 141
Keldrick Hall, Oklahoma, 197       
Devin Mellon, Missouri, HWT

NCAA Automatic Qualifiers (seeds)
Ryak Finch, Iowa State, 125
Alan Waters, Missouri, 125 (3)
Jarrod Patterson, Oklahoma, 125 (7)
Jon Morrison, Oklahoma State, 125
Nathan McCormick, Missouri, 133
Jordan Keller, Oklahoma, 133
Jordan Oliver, Oklahoma State, 133 (1)
Nicholas Hucke, Missouri, 141
Kendric Maple, Oklahoma, 141 (2)
Josh Kindig, Oklahoma State, 141
Kyle Bradley, Missouri, 149
Nick Lester, Oklahoma, 149
Jamal Parks, Oklahoma State, 149 (2)
Drake Houdashelt, Missouri, 157
Matt Lester, Oklahoma, 157
Albert White, Oklahoma State, 157
Andrew Sorenson, Iowa State, 165 (3)
Zach Toal, Missouri, 165
Bubby Graham, Oklahoma, 165
Dallas Bailey, Oklahoma State, 165
Dorian Henderson, Missouri, 174
Kyle Detmer, Oklahoma, 174
Chris Perry, Oklahoma State, 174 (2)
Boaz Beard, Iowa State, 184
Mike Larson, Missouri, 184
Erich Schmidtke , Oklahoma, 184
Brent Haynes, Missouri, 197 (6)
Cayle Byers, Oklahoma State, 197 (5)
Matt Gibson, Iowa State, HWT (12)
Austin Marsden, Oklahoma State, HWT

< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More