Print RSS
All-America Honors Continue For Big 12 Men's Basketball
March 26, 2012
The Big 12 continues to accumulate All-America honors in men's basketball, with the announcement of two more postseason teams - the Associated Press and the John R. Wooden Award. Thomas Robinson and Tyshawn Taylor (Kansas) along with Marcus Denmon (Missouri) were recognized on the first three teams, with three others earning AP Honorable Mention All-America accolades.

The Big 12 was tied for the national lead with two athletes (Robinson, Denmon) named to the John R. Wooden All-America Team. All 10 players on the squad have proven that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA, an important component of the Award insisted upon by Coach Wooden.

Created in 1976 and named after the Hall of Fame player, coach and teacher, the John R. Wooden Award is the among the most prestigious individual honors in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the All-America recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award's name.

In addition to Robinson (first team) and Denmon (second team), the Associated Press selected Taylor to the third team. Three Big 12 student-athletes were selected as honorable mention choices - Pierre Jackson and Perry Jones III of Baylor along with Royce White of Iowa State. The Big 12 has had 33 players named to the AP first, second or third team in league history.

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More