Print RSS
2012 Academic All-Big 12 Softball Team Announced
May 10, 2012
A total of 56 student-athletes have been named to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Softball Team, the Conference announced.

Texas Tech topped the list with 10 honorees, including nine first team recipients and three student-athletes with 4.00 grade point averages.

Among those honored, six were nominated with a 4.00 GPA: Elizabeth Paul (Baylor); Jenna Marston (Missouri); Sammy Jo Diffendaffer (Oklahoma State); and Holley Gentsch, Taylor Powell and Ashley Hamada (Texas Tech).

Nine student-athletes become three-time first team members. Baylor's Kayce Walker, Sydney Wilson and Megan Turk have earned first team accolades since their sophomore years. Kristin Nottelman and Ashley Fleming (Missouri), along with Chelsea Garcia (Oklahoma State), Lexy Bennett (Texas) and Holley Gentsch and Ashley Hamada (Texas Tech) have also been honored three times.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services, the Academic All-Big 12 Softball Team consists of 49 first team members combined with six on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.
< Softball
Popular on
Load More