Print RSS
Big 12 Places 20 Athletes on Outland, Nagurski Watch Lists
July 12, 2012

Seven Big 12 student-athletes have been named to the 67th Annual Outland Trophy Presentation Watch List, which honors the nation's most outstanding interior lineman.

Candidates include offensive guards Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Lane Taylor (Oklahoma State), Blaize Foltz (TCU) and Mason Walters (Texas), tackles Cyril Richardson (Baylor) and LaAdrian Waddle (Texas Tech) and center Ben Habern (Oklahoma).

Habern is a returning candidate to the watch list for the third consecutive year. Lane Taylor receives the honor for a second season.

The Outland Trophy is the third oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award. The Trophy is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Pennsylvania and Kansas at the turn of the century. The 25-man team is selected by the Football Writers Association of America.

The FWAA All-America committee will name three finalists on November 19, and the winner will be announced on December 6 at The Home Depot College Football Awards. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet will be held on January 10, 2012, in Omaha, Neb.

The 13 candidates for the Bronko Nagurski Award include linebackers A.J. Klein and Jake Knott (Iowa State), Arthur Brown (Kansas State) and Tom Wort (Oklahoma), cornerbacks Brodrick Brown (Oklahoma State), Nigel Malone (Kansas State), Demontre Hurst (Oklahoma) and Carrington Byndom (Texas), safeties Tony Jefferson (Oklahoma) and Kenny Vaccaro (Texas) and defensive ends Stansly Maponga (TCU), Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas) and Alex Okafor (Texas).

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Every NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision conference and independents BYU and Notre Dame are represented on the list.

Players may be added or deleted from the watch list throughout the season. The FWAA and Charlotte Touchdown Club will select five finalists on November 15. The winner will be announced at the annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet presented by ACN on December 3 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C.

< Football
Popular on
Load More