Print RSS
Rotary Lombardi, Butkus Preseason Watch Lists Announced
July 15, 2013
Two Big 12 linebackers have been named to the preseason watch list for the 2013 Butkus Award while 12 of the conference’s top linemen appear on the Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List.

First given in 1985, the Butkus Award honors the nation’s top linebacker. The award recognizes both the recipient's athletic achievments and his service to the community. The award has been presented to a Big 12 student-athlete five times since 1996.

The two Big 12 linebackers on the preseason watch list are Bryce Hager (Baylor) and Jeremiah George (Iowa State).

Finalists will be announced in November and the winner will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN  Thursday, Dec. 12.

The Rotary Lombardi Award was established to recognize the lasting impact Vince Lombardi had on football in America. Each year since 1970 the award has been presented to college footballs most outstanding lineman, offense or defense.

Representing the Big 12 on the Rotary Lombardi Preseason Watch List are Bryce Hager (Baylor), Cyril Richardson (Baylor), Ben Heeney (Kansas), BJ Finney (K-State), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Calvin Barnett (Oklahoma State), Devonte Fields (TCU), Chucky Hunter (TCU), Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas), Mason Walters (Texas), Le’Raven Clark (Texas Tech) and Kerry Hyder (Texas Tech).

The 2013 Rotary Lombardi Award will be presented on Dec, 11 at the Wortham Center in Houston, Texas.

Past Big 12 Butkus Award Recipients
2010    Von Miller                  Texas A&M
2004    Derrick Johnson     Texas
2003    Teddy Lehman        Oklahoma
2001    Rocky Calmus        Oklahoma
1996    Matt Russell            Colorado

Past Big 12 Rotary Lobmardi Award Recipients
2009    Ndamukong Suh     Nebraska
2008    Brian Orakpo           Texas
2003    Tommie Harris        Oklahoma
1998    Dat Nguyen             Texas A&M
1997    Grant Wistrom        Nebraska

< Football
Popular on
Load More