Print RSS
Big 12 To Host 2016 and 2018 NCAA Women’s Basketball Regionals
November 20, 2014

The Big 12 Conference has been selected to host the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship 2016 Dallas Regional and 2018 Kansas City Regional.

It was previously announced the Big 12 and Dallas Sports Commission would host the 2017 Women’s Final Four. In addition, the Conference has already been awarded NCAA men’s basketball preliminary rounds from 2016-18.

Including the upcoming three-year cycle, the Big 12 will have hosted NCAA women’s championship competition eight times and men’s sites on 13 occasions since the conference began competition in 1996-97.

 “Receiving two women’s regionals, in addition to the Women’s Final Four and men’s preliminary rounds is a significant honor for our staff,” said Big 12 Commissioner Bob Bowlsby. “We appreciate the trust placed in us by the NCAA basketball committees to host six events in three years. We also want to recognize the sports commissions from each city for their hard work.”  

The 2016 Dallas Regional will be contested at American Airlines Center on either March 25 & 27 or March 26 & 28 in a tune-up for the Women’s Final Four the following year. The 2018 Kansas City Regional will be played in Sprint Center on either March 23 & 25 or March 24 & 26. The Big 12 has previously hosted Sweet 16 competition in both of these venues. The 2011 Dallas Regional and 2010 Kansas City Regional both ranked second in attendance among the respective years’ sites.

American Airlines Center hosted the 2013 Phillips 66 Big 12 Women’s Basketball Championship and will serve as host again at the conclusion of the 2015 season.

Sprint Center will serve as the site of the Phillips 66 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship for the sixth-consecutive year in 2015 and seventh time overall.

A 2017 regional will also be hosted in the Big 12 footprint by the University of Oklahoma in Oklahoma City’s Chesapeake Energy Arena. The arena has served as a site for three previous regionals hosted by the Big 12 and will be the competition venue for a 2015 regional hosted by Oklahoma.

The regional sites were selected by the Division I Women’s Basketball Committee, with approval by the Administrative Committee of the NCAA Division I Championships/Competition Cabinet.

Big 12 NCAA Women’s Basketball Host Sites and History
2008 Oklahoma City Regional (Ford Center)
2009 Oklahoma City Regional (Ford Center)
2010 Kansas City Regional (Sprint Center)
2011 Dallas Regional (American Airlines Center)
2013 Oklahoma City Regional (Chesapeake Energy Arena)
2016 Dallas Regional (American Airlines Center)
2017 Women’s Final Four (American Airlines Center)
2018 Kansas City Regional (Sprint Center)

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More