Send Mail Print RSS
2009 Big 12 Softball Championship Bracket Released

The field has been set for the 14th annual Big 12 Softball Championship at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, Okla. First round of games will begin Friday, May 8, at 5 p.m.

Oklahoma claimed the top seed at this year’s championship after going 14-4 through Big 12 play, and earning a first-round bye. It is OU’s fourth regular-season title under head coach Patty Gasso, and first since the 2000 National Championship season. Missouri (12-6) secured the No. 2-seed and the second first-round bye after splitting games with Nebraska over the weekend to close out league play.

With both teams tied at 11-7 in Big 12 action, Baylor received the No. 3 seed after going 2-0 during the season against the No. 4-seeded Texas. Nebraska’s 9-9 record put them as the No. 5-seed, followed by Texas A&M (No. 6) and Oklahoma State (7). Iowa State swept the series 2-0 against Kansas over the weekend, giving them the No. 8 seed. As a result, KU ended with No. 9 followed by Texas Tech rounding out the 10th spot.

Friday, May 8
Session 1:
5 p.m.              Game 1 - #7 Oklahoma State vs. #10 Texas Tech (Main Field) 
                       Game 2 - # 8 Iowa State vs. #9 Kansas (Alt. Field) 
Immediately following: All-Big 12 Awards Ceremony 

Saturday, May 9
Session 2:
11 a.m.            Game 3 - #2 Missouri vs. Winner OSU/TTU (Main Field)  
11:30 a.m.        Game 4 - #3 Baylor vs. #6 Texas A&M (Alt. Field)  
1:30 p.m.          Game 5 - #1 Oklahoma vs. Winner ISU/KU (Main Field) 
2 p.m.              Game 6 - #4 Texas vs. #5 Nebraska (Alt. Field)  

Session 3:
5 p.m.              Game 7 Winners Game 3 vs. Game 4 (Main Field) 
7:30 p.m.         Game 8 Winners Game 5 vs. Game 6 (Main Field) 

Sunday, May 10
Session 4:
11:30 a.m.       Championship Game (Main Field) - FSN

< Softball
Popular on
Load More