One True Champion
Send Mail Print RSS

2014-15 Bowl Agreements

College football will enter a new four-team playoff era beginning with the 2014-15 season.

The format is simple: the best four teams, two semifinals played in bowl games and a championship game played in a different city each year.

A group of individuals with experience as coaches, student-athletes, collegiate administrators and journalists, along with sitting athletics directors, comprise the selection committee. The group will meet in person several times each year.

The selection committee will choose the four teams for the playoff based on body of work, strength of schedule, head-to-head results, comparison of results against common opponents, championships won and other factors.

Fans will enjoy back-to-back triple headers. Two semifinals and four other premier bowl games will be played on New Year's Eve and New Year's Day. Semifinal games will rotate among six different bowls

extending the experience to more fans. The championship game will be on a Monday night every year.

The Management Committee will select cities to host the National Championship Game. A city can host a bowl game and the championship game in the same year. A city, cannot, however, host a semifinal and championship game in the same year.

Every FBS team will have equal access to the playoff based on its performance. No team will qualifty automatically.

The FBS conferences will manage the College Football Playoff. University presidents and chancellors from the 10 leagues and Notre Dame form the Board of Managers and will govern the administrative operations, with commissioners (the Management Committee) and managing the event with guidance from an advisory group of athletics directors.

In addition to creating a four-team playoff, the new postseason structure preserves the best regular season in sports and protects America's rich bowl tradition.

2014 Order of Selection
College Football Playoff
Valero Alamo Bowl
Russell Athletic Bowl
AdvoCare Texas Bowl
AutoZone Liberty Bowl
Cactus Bowl
Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (backup)

Bowl Game Date / Time (CT) Site Matchup Network
Russell Athletic Bowl TBA Orlando, Fla. Big 12 vs. ACC ESPN
AutoZone Liberty Bowl Dec. 29
1 p.m.
Memphis, Tenn. Big 12 vs. SEC ESPN
AdvoCare Texas Bowl Dec. 29
8 p.m.
Houston, Texas Big 12 vs. SEC ESPN
Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Dec. 31
11:30 a.m.
Atlanta, Ga. At-Large vs At-Large ESPN
Fiesta Bowl Dec. 31
4:00 p.m.
Glendale, Ariz. At-Large vs At-Large ESPN
AT&T Cotton Bowl Jan. 1
11:30 a.m.
Arlington, Texas At-Large vs. At-Large ESPN
Rose Bowl Game Jan. 1
4:00 p.m.
Pasadena, Calif CFP Semifinal ESPN
Allstate Sugar Bowl Jan. 1
7:30 p.m.
New Orleans, La. CFP Semifinal ESPN
Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl Jan. 2
11 a.m.
Fort Worth, Texas Big 12 vs. AAC ESPN
Valero Alamo Bowl Jan. 2
5:45 p.m.
San Antonio, Texas Big 12 vs. Pac-12 ESPN
Cactus Bowl Jan. 2
9:15 p.m.
Tempe, Ariz. Big 12 vs. Pac-12 ESPN
CFP National Championship Jan. 12
7:30 p.m.
Arlington, Texas Semifinal Winners ESPN
Popular on
Load More