Print RSS
2012 Academic All-Big 12 Menís Basketball Team Announced
February 16, 2012
The Big 12 Conference has named 20 student-athletes to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Men's Basketball Team, the league office announced.

Eleven of the 20 honorees reside on the first team, while nine members make up the second team.

Iowa State recorded the most overall accolades with four, including first team selections Scott Christopherson, Melvin Ejim and Bubu Palo.

In addition to the Cyclones, Oklahoma State placed multiple first team members in Keiton Page and Darrell Williams.

Victor Ojeleye (Kansas State) becomes a three-time first team honoree, while Page and J'Covan Brown (Texas) earn their second straight first team distinctions. This is the third Academic All-Big 12 honor for Robert Lewandowki (Texas Tech), who appeared on the first team last season and was a second team member in 2009-10.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.
< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More