Print RSS
Big 12 Notches Four ABCA All-Americans, 13 All-Region Honors
June 20, 2012
Four Big 12 student-athletes were honored with ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors, while the same quartet along with nine additional players were also named to the organization's All-Midwest Region Team.

Andrew Heaney (Oklahoma State), Josh Ludy (Baylor), Tyler Naquin (Texas A&M) and Josh Turley (Baylor) were recognized on both the All-America list and the All-Midwest Region Team.

The Conference has totaled 83 ABCA All-America selections and 34 first team members since 1997.

A first-team member, Heaney also collected first-team All-American accolades by Collegiate Baseball and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association. In 15 starts this season, the ninth overall draft pick by the Miami Marlins was 8-2 with a 1.60 ERA. He tossed six complete games, including three shutouts, and racked up an NCAA-leading 140 strikeouts in 118.1 innings of work. Opponents hit just .180 against him.

The Big 12's Players of the Year in 2012 and 2011 respectively, Ludy and Naquin earned second team honors. Ludy hit .362 with 16 home runs and 71 RBI. He led the league in home runs, RBI and slugging percentage (.634), ranked third in batting average and hits (84), fourth in on-base percentage (.455) and ninth in doubles (15). Meanwhile, Naquin finished his junior campaign in 2012 with a Big 12-best .380 batting average to go along with team highs in runs (56), doubles (18) and triples (6). Additionally, the rifle-armed outfielder drove in 49 runs while stealing a career-best 21 bases.

Baylor's Turley earned third-team recognition after the junior finished the 2012 season with a 9-1 record and a 1.96 ERA in 110.0 innings over 17 starts. His 1.96 ERA was the fifth-lowest by a Baylor pitcher during the aluminum-bat era, and his 9-1 record gave him the best winning percentage by a junior in program history.

The Bears led all Big 12 teams with four All-Midwest Region honorees as Ludy, Logan Vick and Turley garnered first-team distinctions, while Trent Blank was named to the second team. Texas A&M placed three members, including Naquin and Ross Stripling on the first team and Michael Wacha on the second team. Texas Tech also garnered multiple honorees, Jamodrick McGruder and Barrett Barnes earned second-team spots.

First Team
Andrew Heaney, Oklahoma State, Jr., SP
Second Team
Josh Ludy, Baylor, Sr., C
Tyler Naquin, Texas A&M, Jr., OF
Third Team
Josh Turley, Baylor, Jr., SP

First Team
Josh Ludy, Baylor, Sr., C
Logan Vick, Baylor, Jr., OF
Josh Turley, Baylor, Jr., SP
Jared King, Kansas State, So., OF
Andrew Heaney, Oklahoma State, Jr., SP
Tyler Naquin, Texas A&M, Jr., OF
Ross Stripling, Texas A&M, Sr., SP
Second Team
Trent Blank, Baylor, Sr., SP
Max White, Oklahoma, Jr., OF
Erich Weiss, Texas, So., 3B
Michael Wacha, Texas A&M, Jr., SP
Barrett Barnes, Texas Tech, Jr., OF
Jamodrick McGruder, Texas Tech, Jr., 2B

< Baseball
Popular on
Online Store
Load More