Print RSS
Big 12 Places Six on Rimington, Mackey Watch Lists
July 10, 2012

Four players from the Big 12 have been named to the Rimington Trophy watch list, which honors the nation's most outstanding center. Two more athletes were named to the John Mackey Award watch list, an award annually presented to the most outstanding tight end in the nation.

The Rimington Trophy watch list features two Big 12 newcomers in James Fry (TCU) and Joe Madsen (West Virginia) as well as B.J. Finney (Kansas State) and Ben Habern (Oklahoma).

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus All-America First Team center at the University of Nebraska from 1981-82, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only two-time winner for best interior lineman.

Candidates for the Mackey Award include Jordan Najvar (Baylor) and Mike Ragone (Kansas).

Established in 2001, the John Mackey Award is given to the top tight end who also stands for positive sportsmanship, good academic standing and exceptional leadership skills. The award is named after NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey, who is often regarded as one of the all-time greats to play the tight end position.

Semifinalists for the Mackey Award will be announced November 12. The remaining three finalists will be revealed November 19 with the winner being announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 6. The Rimington winner will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 12, 2013.

< Football
Popular on
Load More