Print RSS
Six Big 12 Athletes Named to Guy, Groza Watch Lists
July 11, 2012

Three Big 12 punters have been placed on the preseason watch list for the 2012 Ray Guy Award, while three athletes were also selected to the 21st annual Lou Groza Award watch list.

Candidates on the Guy Award watch list include sophomore Kirby Van Der Kamp (Iowa State), junior Ron Doherty (Kansas) and senior Quinn Sharp (Oklahoma State).

The Augusta Sports Council created the Guy Award to recognize the nation's top collegiate punter and is named in honor of College Football Hall of Fame inductee Ray Guy. The winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors and past Guy Award winners.

Sharp, sophomore Michael Hunnicutt (Oklahoma) and senior Tyler Bitancurt (West Virginia) represent the Big 12 on the Groza Award watch list.

The Groza Award is presented by the Palm Beach Sports Committee to the nation's top place-kicker and is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Kickers on the Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2011 season and 2012 expectations.

Sharp, a first-team All-America punter in 2010, is one of only two players in the nation on both preseason watch lists.

Semifinalists for the Lou Groza Award will be announced November 5 with semifinalists for the Ray Guy Award announced November 9. The top three finalists for each award are determined November 19.

Both winners will be announced live during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show Thursday, December 6.

< Football
Popular on
Load More