2018 Baseball Championship - Game 4 Press Conference
Print RSS
Big 12 Places Six on Paul Hornung Watch List
August 02, 2012

Six Big 12 student-athletes have been named to the 2012 Paul Hornung Award Watch List, an award given annually to the most versatile player in college football.

Candidates on this year's list include Josh Lenz (Iowa State), D.J. Beshears (Kansas), Justin Gilbert (Oklahoma State), Brandon Carter (TCU), Quandre Diggs (Texas) and Tavon Austin (West Virginia).

The 2012 Watch List was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on a combination of 2011 statistics, career performance and expectations heading into the 2012 season.

The Watch List is comprised of 25 seniors, 16 juniors and eight sophomores, representing 44 universities and 10 conferences that are part of the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

The Paul Hornung Award Selection Committee, which is comprised of 16 national sports journalists and former college and NFL players, will narrow the field to a small group of finalists in early December.

College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Fan voting will open in late September and will factor into the selection of the finalists and winner.

The winner of the 2012 Paul Hornung Award will be selected in January following the bowl season.

< Football
Popular on
Load More