Print RSS
Oklahoma State Men, Iowa State Women Win Big 12 Cross Country Championships
October 27, 2012

The Oklahoma State men and Iowa State women have claimed the 2012 Big 12 Cross Country Championship crowns. This marks the fifth-straight title for the Cowboys and the second consecutive team title for the Cyclone women.

For the men, OSU totaled 24 points, while Texas came in second with 56. The runner-up finish for the Longhorns is the highest since finishing second in 2006. Oklahoma (62), Kansas (121) and Iowa State (137) rounded out the top five men's teams.

Texas Tech's Kennedy Kithuka took home the individual crown with a time of 22:52, finishing more than a minute ahead of the next competitor. The junior set the Big 12 Championship record for the men's 8,000 meter race, breaking the previous mark of 23:25. Kithuka also earned the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year Award.

The Cowboys were led by Girma Mecheso, Shadrack Kipchirchir and Tom Farrell who finished second, third and fourth respectively. OSU placed five finishers in the top eight, while Texas tallied three top 10 finishers.

On the women's side, Iowa State's Betsy Saina claimed the individual title and Meaghan Nelson finished runner-up for the second straight year to help the Cyclones win their second-consecutive Big 12 Championship. ISU finished with 34 points while Oklahoma State took second with a total of 81. Texas (87), West Virginia (115) and TCU (153) rounded out the top five.

The top 15 finishers on each side earn All-Big 12 honors.

NCAA Cross Country Regionals will take place on Friday, November 9 with the NCAA Championships slated for Saturday, November 17 at E.P Tom Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Kentucky. The Oklahoma State men have won the national championship two of the last three years, while the Iowa State women finished seventh last year.

Top 15 Men's Finishers (All-Big 12 Team)

1. Kennedy Kithuka,Texas Tech 22:52.8
2.Girma Mecheso, Oklahoma State 23:58.1
3. Shadrack Kipchirchir, Oklahoma State 23:58.5
4. Tom Farrell, Oklahoma State 24:00.6
5. Patrick Casey, Oklahoma 24:01.4
6. Ryan Dohner, Texas 24:02.6
7. Kirubel Erassa, Oklahoma State 24:06.0
8. Shane Moskowitz, Oklahoma State 24:06.2
9. Craig Lutz, Texas 24:07.2
10. Rory Tunningley, Texas 24:08.6
11. Kevin Williams, Oklahoma 24:10.6
12. Bill Kogel, Oklahoma 24:14.1
13. Patrick McGregor, Texas 24:14.5
14. Mohamed Hrezi, Iowa State 24:18.9
15. Riley Masters, Oklahoma 24:20.6

Top 15 Women's Finishers (All-Big 12 Team)

1. Betsy Saina, Iowa State 20:06.8
2. Meaghan Nelson, Iowa State 20:10.2
3. Sara Sutherland, Texas 20:19.7
4. Monika Juodeskaite, Oklahoma State 20:20.9
5. Jessica Engel, Oklahoma 20:25.5
6. Marielle Hall, Texas 20:32.7
7. Natalja Piliusina, Oklahoma State 20:38.6
8. Crystal Nelson, Iowa State 20:47.6
9. Samantha Bluske, Iowa State 20:52.3
10. Sarah-Anne Brault, West Virginia 20:52.8
11. LauraGalvan, Kansas State 21:00.6
12. Agnes Kemboi, TCU 21:02.5
13. Rachel Johnson, Baylor 21:17.8
14. Katy Moen, Iowa State 21:20.4
15. Megan Siebert, Texas 21:28.4

Men's Results
Women's Results

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More