Print RSS
Eight Womenís Basketball Players on Naismith Early Season List
November 15, 2012
The Big 12 is represented by eight of its standout women's basketball players on the 2012-13 Naismith Women's Early Season Watch List, announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Brittney Griner (Baylor) won last year's award and will look to join just five other players to win back-to-back Naismith Women's College Player of the Year since the award was first presented in 1983.

The 50-player watch list also includes Odyssey Sims (Baylor), Chelsea Poppens (Iowa State), Carolyn Davis and Angel Goodrich (Kansas), Aaryn Ellenberg and Whitney Hand (Oklahoma), along with Chassidy Fussell (Texas).

Criteria was based on player performances from last year and expectations for the 2012-13 season. The award will be presented on April 8, 2013 in New Orleans, La.

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. The academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists in March.

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More