Print RSS
Kansas Women Win 2013 NCAA Outdoor T&F National Championship
June 08, 2013

The Kansas Jayhawks were crowned NCAA Outdoor Track & Field National Champions Saturday in Eugene, Ore. It is the first national title in school history for KU, who led the team standings from start to finish. 

The Jayhawks picked up 12 more points on the final day of competition, giving them a total of 60 to finish 16 points clear of second-place Texas A&M.

The 4x100 relay team started things off for KU, picking up a fifth-place finish to earn four points. Senior Paris Daniels finished fourth in the 200 meters, clocking a time of 22.52. Kansas finished the day off with a sixth-place effort in the 4x400 relay.

The Big 12 notched two more individual national champions as Oklahoma’s Tia Brooks won the women’s shot put and OSU’s Natalja Piliusina was victorious in the women’s 1,500 meters.

Brooks finishes her career as a Sooner with four national titles, sweeping the indoor and outdoor shot put crowns each of the last two years. She completed her senior season undefeated in the event.

The Texas women took third in the 4x400-meter relay with a time of 3:27.98. Sophomore Morgan Snow earned a fourth-place finish in the 100-meter hurdles for the Longhorns.

In the men’s 1,500 meters, Oklahoma’s Patrick Casey finished third to earn six points for the Sooners. TCU’s Cameron Parker claimed fifth in the men’s long jump.

The Iowa State women finished second-best of all league schools with 23 points for 13th place. The Longhorns followed in 15th, finishing with 18 points. Oklahoma tied for 21st with 12 points, while Oklahoma State and TCU finished in a tie for 25th, each totaling 10 points.

On the men’s side, Texas finished sixth after posting 31 points. TCU trailed in 12th with 19 points. Kansas State finished 23rd with 10.75  points, while Texas Tech rounded out the league’s top-25 finishers, tying for 24th. 

In individual event titles, the Big 12 recorded 8 crowns over the four days of competition, including five on the women’s side and three for the men. League competitors have now won 118 individual titles in the Conference’s 17-year history.

Kansas’ team title marks the 52nd National Championship in Big 12 history.

< Track
Popular on
Load More