Print RSS
FOX Sports To Broadcast Tennis Championship
April 14, 2015

FS2 Channel Finder

The Big 12 has announced that fans will be able to watch the title matches of the 2015 Big 12 Tennis Championship live on FOX Sports 2, marking the first time the event will be available on a national television broadcast. The title matches will also be available via streaming on FOX Sports GO.

Title matches will be played April 26, beginning at Noon CT. The broadcast window will run until 6 p.m., at which time any remaining action will be available to viewers on FOX Sports GO. The broadcast will feature FOX News correspondent Kevin Corke on play-by-play, with tennis instructor Mark Bey providing color commentary. Bey was honored as the 2006 CDTA Junior Tennis Coach of the Year. Kristen Keith of Campus Insiders will provide the sideline reporting.

The broadcast is made possible by a partnership with the USTA, which is helping to deliver conference championship title matches across multiple television and digital viewing platforms. The partnerships are the latest in the USTA’s efforts to spotlight college tennis through television and digital viewing exposure.

“The Big 12 is thrilled that the USTA is assisting in providing television coverage for our upcoming conference championship finals,” said Big 12 Senior Associate Commissioner Dru Hancock. “Generous support from the USTA allows us exposure for our tennis programs that would otherwise not be possible. Our coaches are excited for the opportunity to showcase our student-athletes.”

The championship will take place April 23-26 at the Hurd Tennis Center in Waco, Texas. The Big 12 Championship will feature six squads currently ranked in the top 10 of the latest ITA Tennis rankings. On the men’s side, No. 1 Oklahoma and No. 2 Baylor will headline a loaded field that includes No. 7 TCU, No. 10 Texas, No. 16 Texas Tech and No. 29 Oklahoma State. The Big 12 is also home to four of the top six men’s singles players in the nation in No. 1 Axel Alvarez Llamas (Oklahoma), No. 2 Julian Lenz (Baylor), No. 5 Soren Hess-Olesen (Texas) and No. 6 Andrew Harris (Oklahoma).

The women’s field also includes four top-20 teams, with No. 8 Baylor, No. 10 Oklahoma State, No. 15 Texas Tech and No. 19 TCU making for strong and unpredictable race to the tournament title.

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More