Print RSS
2015 Big 12 Fall Scholar-Athletes of the Year Announced
December 10, 2015

The Big 12 Conference has announced its 2015 Fall Scholar-Athletes of the Year. The following student-athletes have been selected as the award winners for their respective sports based on a vote of each sport’s head coaching group.

2015 Big 12 Men’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Craig Nowak, Oklahoma State, Jr., Cypress, Texas/Cypress Woods
Nowak, a finance and accounting major with a 3.50 grade point average, is a three-time Academic All-Big 12 honoree. He was a First Team Academic All-Big 12 Cross Country member this season and in 2014 in addition to earning Academic All-Big 12 Track and Field First Team recognition in the spring of 2015. Nowak earned All-Big 12 honors each of the past two seasons, finishing sixth in the conference championship this year after a ninth-place finish in the 2014 event.

2015 Big 12 Women’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Ingeborg Loevnes, Oklahoma State, Sr., Norway
The 2015 Women’s Cross Country Newcomer of the Year, Loevnes sports a 4.00 grade point average in university studies at Oklahoma State. She was one of 16 members on the 2015 Academic All-Big 12 Cross Country Team nominated with a perfect GPA. Loevnes finished third at the 2015 Big 12 Cross Country Championship before earning All-America honors with her top-40 finish at the NCAA Championships as the Cowgirls placed seventh at the event.

2015 Big 12 Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Ty Darlington, Oklahoma, Sr., Apopka, Fla./Apopka
Darlington, a 2015 All-Big 12 First Team honoree, was the recipient of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” and the 2015 William V. Campbell Trophy, awarded to the individual deemed the best football scholar-athlete in the nation. Darlington is working on his master’s in Adult and Higher Education. He was named a CoSIDA First-Team Academic All-American for the second straight year. As a junior, he was named a Dr. Gerald Lage Award winner (highest academic honor given to a student-athlete by the Big 12 Conference) and earned the 1A Faculty Athletics Representatives Academic Excellence Award. The three-time OU President’s Honor Roll member is a six-time Sooner Scholar and Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll selection.

2015 Big 12 Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Koree Willer, Iowa State, Jr., Fort Collins, Colo./Fossil Ridge
Willer has collected conference academic accolades in her three years at Iowa State, earning Academic All-Rookie honors her freshman season in addition to Academic All-Big 12 First Team recognition the past two years. The junior is a mechanical engineering major with a 3.90 grade point average who tallied six goals in 18 games for the Cyclones this season.

2015 Big 12 Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Kersten Kober, Kansas State, Jr., Southlake, Texas/Southlake Carroll
A defensive specialist/libero for the Wildcats, Kober is a two-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team selection in addition to a Big 12 Academic All-Rookie honoree. The junior holds a 4.00 grade point average in accounting and appeared in all 29 matches for K-State this season. Kober also earned Academic All-District 7 honors this year.

The Big 12 Conference established its Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award in 2012-13. A recipient is named in each of the Conference’s sponsored sports. Each Big 12 institution nominates one individual per sport with the winners selected by a vote of the league’s head coaches for that sport, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

Scholar-Athlete of the Year nomination criteria includes:
• must be a junior or senior (athletic and academic standing)
• cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or higher
• participation in at least 60 percent of the team’s scheduled contests
• minimum of one year in residence at the institution

< Conference
Popular on
Load More