Print RSS
Oklahoma State, TCU & Texas Tech Make NCAA Baseball Championship Field
May 30, 2016

Oklahoma State, TCU and Texas Tech have punched tickets to the 2016 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship field with the Frogs and Red Raiders serving as regional hosts.

Texas Tech was tabbed with the No. 5 overall national seed, marking its first national seed while a member of the Big 12. The league has produced 18 national seeds, including for three seasons straight.

Regional play begins on Friday, June 3, and runs through Monday, June 6 (if necessary).

Overall, the Big 12 has totaled 101 NCAA appearances and is 203-147 in Regional games. The Big 12 has sent multiple teams to Super Regional action in 13 years, including in five of the past six seasons. Additionally, the league has had 19 teams advance to the College World Series.

This is the fourth time in school history that Tech has been selected as an NCAA Regional host. The Red Raiders, the Big 12 regular-season champions, head into the postseason with a 41-16 overall record, the 13th 40-win season in program history. Tech will meet Fairfield on Friday at 2 p.m. CT, with Dallas Baptist and New Mexico also in the Lubbock Regional.

TCU, winners of the Big 12 postseason championship, host a regional for the third straight year. The Frogs (42-15) draw Oral Roberts to open play on Friday as the two teams face off at 6:30 p.m. CT. Gonzaga, who played a series in Fort Worth this season, and Arizona State complete the Fort Worth Regional. TCU is making its 14th NCAA championship appearance as the Frogs are 38-31 in the event with College World Series appearances each of the past two seasons.

Oklahoma State (36-20) meets former conference opponent Nebraska in the Clemson Regional as the Pokes and Huskers match up at 11 a.m. CT on Friday. No. 7 national seed Clemson takes on Western Carolina in the regional. This is the Cowboys’ 42nd NCAA bid in program history as OSU has made the field for four straight years and holds an all-time mark of 140-89 in the NCAA postseason.

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 3, to Monday, June 6 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 6, at approximately 10 p.m. CT. The 70th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Friday, June 3 (Times CT)
Clemson Regional hosted by Clemson - plays winner of Columbia Regional (Duke, Rhode Island, South Carolina, UNC Wilmington)
#1 Clemson (42-18) vs. #4 Western Carolina (30-29), 6 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN
#2 Oklahoma State (36-20) vs. #3 Nebraska (37-20), 11:00 a.m., ESPNU/WatchESPN

Fort Worth Regional hosted by TCU - plays winner of College Station Regional (Binghamton, Minnesota, Texas A&M, Wake Forest)
#1 TCU (42-15) vs. #4 Oral Roberts (38-19), 6:30 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN
#2 Arizona State (34-21) vs. #3 Gonzaga (35-19), 2:00 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN

Lubbock Regional hosted by Texas Tech - plays winner of Charlottesville Regional (Bryant, East Carolina, Virginia, William & Mary)
#1 Texas Tech (41-16) vs. #4 Fairfield (32-24), 2 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN
#2 Dallas Baptist (41-17) vs. #3 New Mexico (38-21), 6 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN

< Baseball
Popular on
Load More