Print RSS
2017 Academic All-Big 12 Women’s Basketball Team Honors 51
February 16, 2017

Fifty one student-athletes have been named to the 2017 Academic All-Big 12 Women’s Basketball Team.

Thirty-five selections make up the first team with 16 honorees are on the second team.

Among those nominated, Shaelyn Martin (Kansas State), Kelly Thomson (Kansas State), Gabbi Ortiz (Oklahoma), Jentry Holt (Oklahoma State) and Kaylee Jensen (Oklahoma State) represent with 4.00 grade point averages.

The 2017 team features eight three-time Academic All-Big 12 selections: Caelynn Manning-Allen (Kansas), Kelly Thomson (Kansas State), Kindred Wesemann (Kansas State), Maddie Manning (Oklahoma), Derica Wyatt (Oklahoma), Jada Butts (TCU), Brianna Taylor (Texas) and Kelsey Lang (Texas). All eight players were also selected to the Academic All-Big 12 Rookie team their freshman seasons.

Iowa State, K-State and Oklahoma paced all league teams with eight honorees, including K-State’s seven first-team selections.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA. To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More