Print RSS
Texas Longhorns Win Big 12 Rowing Championship
April 28, 2012


The University of Texas captured the 2012 Big 12 Rowing Championship, its fourth in a row, at the Oklahoma River in Oklahoma City, Okla. The Longhorns recorded 105 points and held off host Oklahoma (104 points) in the closest finish in league history. Kansas and Kansas State tied for third with 64 points each.

The Longhorns built their win off victories in the Second Varsity Eight, Fourth Varsity Eight and Second Varsity Four. It marked the third time in four years that UT has won at least three races at the event. The Sooners captured their first Varsity Eight win in Big 12 history in the day's closest race, as the final time difference was less than one second.

Kansas captured its first race crown in league history as the Jayhawks won the Varsity Four race in convincing fashion with a victory of nearly 10 seconds. The first Big 12 Rowing Championship was held in 2009.

The 2012 All-Big 12 Teams were also announced, with nine student-athletes selected to each squad. The Big 12 Rower, Newcomer and Coach of the Year will be announced on Wednesday, May 2. The NCAA Rowing Championship will be held May 25-27 at Lake Mercer in West Windsor, N.J.

2012 Big 12 Rowing Championship Results
Oklahoma River, Oklahoma City, Okla.

Team Results

1.  Texas  105 points    
2.  Oklahoma   104  
3.  Kansas 65  
  Kansas State   65  

Varsity Eight

1.  Oklahoma 6:53.58
2.  Texas 6:54.03
3.  Kansas State   7:09.35
4.  Kansas 7:13.90 

Second Varsity Eight

1.  Texas 6:58.63
2. Oklahoma 7:05.32
3. Kansas State   7:10.98 
4. Kansas 7:20.75

Third Varsity Eight

1.  Oklahoma 7:06.67
2.  Texas 7:10.38 
3. Kansas 7:22.61
4. Kansas State  7:35.75

Fourth Varsity Eight

1.  Texas 7:16.68
2. Oklahoma      7:22.60 
3. Kansas  7:43.12

Varsity Four

1.  Kansas 7:43.69 
2. Texas 7:53.37
3. Oklahoma 7:58.96
4. Kansas State  8:04.19

Second Varsity Four
1.  Texas 7:56.71 
2. Oklahoma 7:59.39
3. Kansas 8:10.28
4. Kansas State  8:15.22 

All-Big 12 First Team

Olivia Kinet, Kansas, Jr.
Hanna Wiltfong, Kansas State, Sr.
Nikki Furmanek, Oklahoma, Sr.
Carly Schueler, Oklahoma, Jr.
Rebecca Staff, Oklahoma, Jr.
Brenna Coldren, Texas, Jr.
Melanie Eckert, Texas, Fr.
Laurel McCaig, Texas, Jr.
Hannah Moon, Texas, So.

All-Big 12 Second Team
Melanie Luthi, Kansas, Sr.
Traci Smiley, Kansas State, Sr.
Anna Young, Kansas State, Sr.
Nicole Bladow, Oklahoma, Sr.
Meghan Farrell, Oklahoma, Jr.
Chelsea Burns, Texas, Jr.
Rachel Donnelly, Texas, Jr.
Jackie Gorcyca, Texas, Sr.
Felicia Izaguirre-Werner, Texas, Sr.

< Rowing
Popular on
Load More