Print RSS
All-Big 12 Conference Softball Coaches Team, Awards Announced
May 11, 2005

May 11, 2005

DALLAS, Texas - Amanda Scarborough (Texas A&M) became the first player in Big 12 Conference history to earn both Player and Freshman of the Year honors, highlighting the softball coaches' 2005 All-Conference awards. Scarborough's coach Jo Evans received the Coach of the Year award, while Cat Osterman (Texas) was named Pitcher of the Year and Heather Scaglione (Oklahoma) Defensive Player of the Year on Wednesday.

The coaches' All-Big 12 team is comprised of two teams which consist of a 19-member first and 19-member second team, regardless of position. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Scarborough, a right-handed pitcher, led the Aggies to their first conference title in school history in 2005. In her first season in the circle for A&M, Scarborough posted a 26-1 overall record and an 11-1 mark in conference action, the most wins in the Big 12. The Magnolia, Texas, native posted an 0.85 earned run average in conference games, second only to Osterman, and 53 strikeouts. She also shut out 10 opponents on the season, including two during the Big 12 season. At the plate, Scarborough finished league play as the individual batting leader, compiling a .410 batting average, while recording the most hits (25) and averaging 1.39 hits per contest.

Cat Osterman (Texas), Big 12 Pitcher of the Year and Heather Scaglione (Oklahoma), Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. Courtesy: Matt Simon,

Osterman claimed the third Pitcher of the Year honor of her career. She has now won the title every year she has competed for the Longhorns (2002-03 and `05), including the first award presented in 2002. The Houston, Texas, junior leads the Big 12 overall with a 0.84 ERA and in the conference at 0.53. Osterman, the 2003 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, paced league play with 191 strikeouts (14.48 SO/game) -- 74 more than the second-ranked player. In conference action alone, Osterman recorded a Big 12-best five shutouts (14 overall) and held her opponents a .113 batting average. The former USA Olympian tallied a 21-6 overall record and a 9-4 Big 12 mark.

Scaglione is the Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight year since the award's inception in 2004. The San Diego, Calif., catcher has been a backstop for the nationally-ranked Sooners all season. Scaglione has recorded a .991 fielding percentage and has caught four base runners trying to steal in 12 attempts in conference action. Offensively, Scaglione led the Big 12 during the conference season in home runs (8), RBI (18-tied), total bases (50), and slugging percentage (.893). She also currently holds the top position for total bases overall with 126.

Scarborough, Osterman and Scaglione all earned first team all-conference honors.

Texas A&M, 2005 Big 12 Conference Champions. Courtesy: Matt Simon,

Evans guided her team to the league championship and to the most conference wins (14) in A&M history during the 2005 campaign. In her ninth season at the helm of the Aggie program, Evans has compiled a 328-186-2 record and a 641-396-2 overall mark in 20 seasons. Texas A&M (14-4) heads into the Big 12 Softball Tournament as the No. 1 seed after claiming its first conference championship. Evans collects her second Big 12 Coach of the Year accolade in as many years to become the first coach to do so since OU's Patty Gasso in 1999 and 2000.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Amanda Scarborough, Texas A&M

PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Cat Osterman, Texas

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Heather Scaglione, Oklahoma

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Amanda Scarborough, Texas A&M

COACH OF THE YEAR: Jo Evans, Texas A&M

Chelsi Lake, DP; Baylor
Harmony Schwethelm, CF; Baylor
Kim Wilmoth, SS; Baylor
Destiny Frankenstein, SS; Kansas
Heather Stanley, OF; Kansas
Heather Kunkel, SS; Missouri
Janessa Roening, OF; Missouri
Jessica Yoachim, IF; Nebraska
Norrelle Dickson, 3B; Oklahoma
Christina Enea, 1B; Oklahoma
Kami Keiter, P; Oklahoma
Heather Scaglione, C; Oklahoma
Kristin Vesely, CF; Oklahoma
Cat Osterman, P; Texas
Megan Gibson, P/1B; Texas A&M
Jana James, LF; Texas A&M
Sharonda McDonald, OF; Texas A&M
Amanda Scarborough, P/1B; Texas A&M
Rocky Spencer, OF; Texas A&M

Tessa Lynam, 1B; Baylor
Kelly Osburn, LF; Baylor
Ashley Frazer, OF; Kansas
Jessica Moppin, 2B; Kansas
Serena Settlemier, DP; Kansas
Leanne Bowers, OF; Missouri
Kathy Masterson, C; Missouri
Micaela Minner, OF; Missouri
Amanda Renth, IF; Missouri
Ashley DeBuhr, P; Nebraska
Anne Steffan, IF; Nebraska
Trisha Tannahill, OF; Nebraska
Marjorie Johnson, P; Oklahoma State
Stephanie Nicholson, SS; Oklahoma State
Shanel Scott, OF; Oklahoma State
MicKayla Padilla, UT; Texas
Megan Willis, C; Texas
Jamie Hinshaw, 3B; Texas A&M
Lindsay Park, 1B; Texas A&M

< Softball
Popular on
Load More