Print RSS
2008 Big 12 Tennis Championships
April 27, 2008

>> Results
>> Bracket
>> Tickets
>> 2008 Championship Preview
>> Mitchell Tennis Center
>> Men's Record Book
>> Women's Record Book
>> 2007 Recap

Day One Recap
Day One Photo Gallery 
Day Two Recap
Day Two Photo Gallery 
Day Three Recap
Day Four Recap
Day Four Photo Gallery 

The Big 12 Tennis Championships will be held at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center on the Texas A&M University campus for the third time in conference history.

Built for an estimated $4.2 million, the official ribbon cutting ceremony was held on October 23, 1998. A&M also has served as the host for other intercollegiate tennis tournaments from USTA events to the NCAA Regionals. In 2002 and '05, the Mitchell Tennis Center was the site of the NCAA Men's Tennis Championships, and in ’09 the facility will host both the men’s and women’s national events.

The A&M Tennis Center has 12 lighted courts with seating for nearly 3,000 spectators. The candle power of the lights averages 150 feet inside the fences, which is greater than that of USTA Championship status.

Baylor (2002-05, '07), Texas (1997, 1999, 2006) and Texas A&M (1998, 2000-01) have combined to win all 11 of the previous men's Big 12 postseason championships. The women’s championship features the following winners Baylor (2006-07), Texas (1997-2002, '05), Oklahoma State (2003), and Texas A&M (2004).

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More