Print RSS
Sooners Win Softball Championship
May 16, 2010

Championship Central

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - The No. 2-seed Oklahoma Sooners won the 2010 Big 12 Softball Championship title over fifth-seeded Missouri, 9-0, on a walk-off three-run homer at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium. This is the fourth postseason conference championship for OU. The Sooners also won the inaugural Big 12 Softball Championship in 1996 as well as titles in 2001 and 2007.

OU right-fielder Haley Nix came to the plate with two outs in the bottom of the sixth and blasted a homerun over the right field fence to score three runs and give the Sooners the 9-0 run-rule victory.

In the fifth, Haley Anderson led the Sooners off with a double to left center. The next two batters flied out, bringing up Krystle Huey, who hit a two-out single up the middle to advance Anderson to third. Amber Flores, the Big 12 Player of the Year, was intentionally walked, setting the stage for Jessica Shults to single through the right side and stretch OU’s lead to 5-0. Shults’ two RBI brought her season total to 61, which ranks ninth on the Big 12 single season list.

Lindsey Vandever, the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, gave OU the early lead on a home run in the bottom of the first. Huey started off the inning with a single to left center followed by a Flores walk to set up the three-run blast.

Missouri tallied just three hits on the game and left nine on base as the Tigers fell to 46-11 overall. OU improved to 43-10 and earned the league’s automatic berth. The selection show announcing the 64-team field for the 2010 NCAA Division I Softball Championship will begin at 9 p.m. CT, Sunday night on ESPNU. Attendance for the championship game was 1,233.

All-Tournament Team
Courtney Nieten, Baylor, C
Megan Turk, Baylor, IF
Ashley Fleming, Missouri, 1B
Jana Hainey, Missouri, P
Jenna JJ Marston, Missouri, IF
Rhea Taylor, Missouri, CF
Amber Flores, Oklahoma, 2B
Keilani Ricketts, Oklahoma, P (Most Outstanding Player)
Jessica Shults, Oklahoma, 1B
Lindsey Vandever, Oklahoma, C
Melissa Dumezich, Texas A&M, P
Meagan May, Texas A&M, C
Holley Gentsch, Texas Tech, C

< Softball
Popular on
Load More