Print RSS
Five In
May 31, 2010
By Wendell Barnhouse | Correspondent

Five Big 12 Conference teams are part of the 64-team 2010 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship announced Monday. All five teams will start play Friday.

Texas is the No. 2 overall national seed; Arizona State is the No. 1 seed. The Longhorns will host a regional in Austin that includes Rice, Louisiana-Lafayette and Rider. Texas begins play in the double-elimination bracket against Rider (36-21), the automatic qualifier from the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference.

Oklahoma also will host a regional. The Sooners (44-15) will face Oral Roberts (35-25), the automatic qualifier from the Summit League. The other teams in the Norman Regional are North Carolina and California.

Texas A&M, the Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship winner, will travel to South Florida for the Coral Gables Regional. Host Miami is the No. 1 seed there and the Aggies are the No. 2 seed. A&M (40-19-1) will face Florida International (36-23), the automatic qualifier from the Sun Belt Conference, in the opener.

The Aggies' opener will draw lots of national attention. Florida International shortstop Garrett Wittels has a 54-game hitting streak and is five games from breaking the record of 58 set by Oklahoma State's Robin Ventura in 1987.

Baylor, which lost to Texas A&M Sunday in the game that decided the Big 12's NCAA automatic qualifier, will make the 90-mile trek to the Fort Worth Regional. Host TCU is the No. 1 seed. The second-seeded Bears (34-22) will face No. 3 seed Arizona (33-22). Lamar is the fourth team in Fort Worth.

Kansas State (36-20) earned its second consecutive NCAA tournament bid and will travel to Arkansas for the Fayetteville Regional. The Wildcats are the No. 3 seed and open against second-seeded Washington State (34-20). The Razorbacks are the No. 1 seed and will open against Grambling.

Should Texas advance from the Austin Regional, its No. 2 seed would mean the Longhorns would host the Super Regional.



Austin Regional
6:30 p.m. - Texas vs. Rider

Fort Worth Regional
2 p.m. - Baylor vs. Arizona

Norman Regional
1 p.m. - Oklahoma vs. Oral Roberts

Coral Gables Regional
11 a.m. - Texas A&M vs. Florida International

Fayetteville Regional
7:05 p.m. -  Kansas State vs. Washington State

The Big 12 Conference's NCAA Baseball Championship Selections during the league's history.
1997: 4
1998: 5
1999: 6
2000: 5
2001: 5
2002: 5
2003: 5
2004: 6
2005: 5
2006: 7
2007: 6
2008: 6
2009: 8
2010: 5


< Baseball
Popular on
Load More