Print RSS
Murray, Smith Named Big 12 Cross Country Coaches Of The Year
November 03, 2010

Jon Murray (Texas Tech) and Dave Smith (Oklahoma State) have been selected as the 2010 Big 12 Cross Country Coaches of the Year, as voted by the league coaches. This is the third conference accolade for both coaches, after they have guided their teams to three consecutive Big 12 Cross Country Championships.

In his third season at Texas Tech, Murray's women's team claimed the 2010 league championship. Four Red Raiders earned All-Big 12 accolades en route to a team score of 44. Junior Rose Tanui won the race in a time of 23:56.94 and captured Newcomer of the Year honors.

Smith has been at the helm of the OSU men's program for six seasons. He is the fourth OSU cross country coach to lead his team to a conference championship and the first since 1995. The Cowboys claimed the top four finishes at the Big 12 Championships, with Girma Mecheso winning the event and Tom Farrell capturing Newcomer of the Year honors. Smith's team earned a score of 19 points, the highest score since Colorado's 16 points in 2000. The Cowboys placed six of their seven competitors on the All-Big 12 team.

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More