Print RSS
2010 Academic All-Big 12 Football Team Announced
November 18, 2010

The Big 12 Conference has named 177 student-athletes to the 2010 Academic All-Big 12 Football Team, the league office announced.

Among those honored, Blake Lawrence (Nebraska), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Blane Cheatham and Michael Hodges (Texas A&M) were nominated with a 4.00 grade point average.

Nebraska placed a Big-12 leading 23 players on the squad -- 13 on the first team and 10 on the second.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services, the football academic all-league squad consisted of 104 first team members combined with 73 on the second team.  First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

< Football
Popular on
Load More