Print RSS
Texas A&M Women, Texas Men Stay On Top Through Day Three
February 25, 2011

AUSTIN, Texas - The Texas men's team captured gold in all seven events while Texas A&M's women took home two and maintained their lead on day three of the Big 12 Swimming and Diving Championships.

The Longhorns extended their lead (727), trailed by Texas A&M (554) and Missouri (468). The Texas 400-medley relay of Cole Cragin, Scott Spann, Neil Caskey and Jimmy Feigen started off the night with a win, setting a meet record with a time of 3:07.45. Nick D'Innocenzo earned the Big 12 title in the 400-yard individual medley, recording a time of 3:44.08. Longhorn teammates Cole Cragin and Jimmy Feigen shared the gold in the 100-yard butterfly, turning in a time of 46.95. The win is the fourth of the meet for Feigen. Dax Hill took first in the 200 freestyle (1:33.32), marking the 12th win in as many years for UT. Eric Friedland (53.82) won the 100 breaststroke for the second straight year and Cragin collected his third individual title as the 100-yard backstroke champion (46.67).

The Aggies women's squad (635) was able to hold onto its first-place standing despite just two wins on the night. The Longhorns (628), who took home four golds, will begin the final day only seven points back of A&M. Missouri tabbed 433.5 points to hold onto third, followed by Kansas (260.5), Nebraska (217) and Iowa State (109).

The Longhorn 400 medley team of Lily Moldenhauer, Laura Sogar, Kelsey Amundsen and Karlee Bispo won the event in a conference and meet record time of 3:30.52. Sarah Henry notched the Aggies' first win of the night, earning gold in the 400 IM with a meet record of 4:05.48. In the 100-yard butterfly, Amundsen grabbed her third overall title of the meet with a 52.08 mark and Bispo took home the individual championship as well with her third consecutive victory in the 200 freestyle (1:43.59). Bispo broke her own 2010 Big 12 Championship meet record with the second fastest time recorded in the country this year.

Laura Sogar kept the Longhorns' winning streak alive with a Big 12 Championship meet and overall record of 58.83 in the 100 breaststroke. In the last race of the night, Texas A&M's Paige Miller broke up the Longhorns' streak as she took home the gold in the 100-yard backstroke (52.65).

Drew Livingston dove to his first-career Big 12 individual title in the three-meter springboard, defeating A&M's Grant Nel (449.40) with a final tally of 527.10. Livingston's mark shattered the previous Big 12 Championship meet and overall record by 75.75 points. Loren Figueroa of Missouri won the title in the women's one-meter dive with a Big 12 meet and overall record of 335.15. The win was the first ever for the Tigers in the event.

The schedule for the final day begins with prelims at 10 a.m., followed by the women's platform finals at 5 p.m., and swimming events beginning at 6 p.m. Team and individual trophy presentations will begin immediately following the conclusion of the 400-yard freestyle relay.

< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More