Print RSS
Oklahoma Men, Nebraska Women On Top After Day One At 2011 Indoor Championships
February 25, 2011

Championship Central
Day One Results

LINCOLN, Neb. - The Sooner men and Husker women each picked up two of the 10 event wins during the first day of action at the 2011 Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championships Friday at the Devaney Center. The Nebraska women lead with 37.00 points, however Texas Tech (34.00) and Iowa State (32.00) are marginally behind the Cornhuskers. The Oklahoma men lead with 40.00 points, while Nebraska is in second with 25.00 and Texas A&M sits in third at 23.50.

Nebraska's Chante McMillan , the reigning pentathlon winner, secured the title for the second year in a row with a total of 4,287 points. The senior finished third as a freshman, second as a sophomore and first the past two years. With today's total, McMillan now has the two top scores in the Big 12 this season, including the NU school record of 4,378 set at the Husker Invitational, which automatically-qualified her for NCAA Indoors.

Also securing a win for NU was sophomore Mara Griva who tied UT's Chantel Malone in the long jump, however, Griva's second best jump was 2 cm better than Malone's, giving Nebraska its first women's indoor title in the long jump since 2004.

For the Sooner men, KP Singh defended his men's weight throw title, winning the event with a throw of 65-11.75. Singh entered the Championships ranked fourth in the nation and first in the Conference. OU excelled in the men's 5,000-meter run, claiming the top two finishers, and three of the top five. Sophomores Kevin Schwab and Kevin Williams claimed the first and second spots, respectively, with Schwab breaking a nine-year Devaney Center record with his time of 13:50.31, while Williams finished in 13:51.05. It marked the first time in the Big 12 era the OU men have won the event.

In the men's field events, freshman Kyal Meyers became the first men's Red Raider to take home the pole vault title posting a mark of 17-4.50. Texas sophomore Marquise Goodwin, who entered the event ranked first in the nation, claimed the long jump title with an NCAA Indoor automatic-qualifying mark of 26-07.00.

Iowa State captured its second-straight 5,000-meter victory with sophomore Betsy Saina winning in 16:14.96. Lisa Koll won the 5k indoor event in 2010.

The Oklahoma State corps of Natalja Piliusina, Mihaela Bobos, Caileigh Glenn and Mihaela Susa edged the defending distance medley race winners Texas Tech by posting OSU's first-ever Big 12 DMR event win with a time of 11:09.67. The Red Raiders finished second at 11:10.63, and, combined with TTU junior Kelly Closse's winning weight throw of 66-05.75, trail NU by just three points.

The Baylor men notched its second-straight men's distance medley race in 9:48.67 with Kansas State following close behind for a second-place finish of 9:51.42.

In the men's heptathlon, Kansas State's Mantas Silkauskas is the leader after four events. The Wildcat set personal-bests in the first three events with marks of 6.74 in the 60-meter, 24-03.5 in the long jump and 42-06.75 in the shot put. The 60-meter hurdles, pole vault and 1,000-meter events in the pentathlon will determine the winner on Saturday.

The Championships wrap up on Saturday with a full day of events, starting with the final portions of the heptathlon event beginning at 10 a.m. while field events start at 1:30 p.m. and running events at 2 p.m.


1. Oklahoma 40.00
2. Nebraska 25.00
3. Texas A&M 23.50

1. Nebraska 37.00
2. Texas Tech 34.00
3. Iowa State 32.00


Weight Throw: KP Singh, Oklahoma, 65-11.75 (20.11m)
Pole Vault: Kyal Meyers, Texas Tech, 17'-04.50" (5.30m)
Long Jump: Marquise Goodwin, Texas, 26-7 (8.10m)
5,000-meter run: Kevin Schwab, Oklahoma, 13:50.31
Distance medley race: Baylor, 9.48.67

Pentathlon: Chante McMillan, Nebraska, 4287
Long Jump: Mara Griva, Nebraska, 20-10.00 (6.35m)
Weight Throw: Kelly Closse, Texas Tech, 66-05.75 (20.26m)
5,000-meter run:  Betsy Saina, Iowa State, 16:14.96
Distance medley race: Oklahoma State, 11:09.67


< Track
Popular on
Load More