Print RSS
Three From Big 12 Named To USBWA Freshman All-America Team
March 15, 2011

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected its Freshman All-America Teams for 2010-11 and three Big 12 standouts are on the list.  The total is tied for the most of any conference in the nation.

Texas has two student-athletes on the list, with Tristan Thompson being named to the first team and Cory Joseph recognized on the second team.  Perry Jones III of Baylor is also a second team honoree.  This year marks the first time the USBWA has chosen a Freshman All-America squad.

The USBWA also awarded the 2011 Wayman Tisdale Award - given each season to the National Freshman of the Year (Jared Sullinger, Ohio State).  The accolade is named after the former Oklahoma standout, a three-time USBWA All-American.  Following a stint on the 1984 U.S. Olympic basketball team, he played 12 seasons in the NBA before retiring in 1997 to focus on a blossoming jazz music career. In March 2007, he was diagnosed with cancer and, following a courageous and difficult battle that included the amputation of his right leg in 2008, he passed away in May 2009.

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season.  Previous Big 12 winners include Michael Beasley, Kansas State (2007-08), Kevin Durant, Texas (2006-07) and T.J. Ford, Texas (2001-02).

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.

USBWA Freshman All-America

First Team
Harrison Barnes (North Carolina)
Terrence Jones (Kentucky)
Brandon Knight (Kentucky)
Jared Sullinger (Ohio State)
Tristan Thompson (Texas)

Second Team
Tobias Harris (Tennessee)
Perry Jones III (Baylor)
Cory Joseph (Texas)
Kendall Marshall (North Carolina)
Doug McDermott (Creighton)

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More