Print RSS
Trio of Big 12 Wrestlers Win National Championships
March 20, 2011

Jordan Burroughs (Nebraska), Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State) and Jon Reader (Iowa State) all earned national titles at the 2011 NCAA Wrestling Championships. The accolade was the second of Burroughs career (2009) and first for Oliver and Reader. The conference had all five squads and 38 student-athletes participate at this year's event in Philadelphia, Penn.

After receiving 31 automatic qualifiers and seven at-large selections from the Big 12 Championships in Ames, Iowa., the conference had 10 earn All-America status after their performances at the Wells Fargo Aena. No. 1 Oklahoma State led the league after finishing fourth with 70.5 points, followed by Nebraska (12th, 43.5), Oklahoma (16th, 38), Missouri (19th, 35) and Iowa State (20th, 31.5).

Burroughs capped off his decorated career by becoming Nebraska's first-ever two-time national champion with his major decision victory over Tyler Caldwell (Oklahoma). A senior from Sicklerville, N.J., Burroughs finished the season with a perfect 36-0 record, the second undefeated season of his career after he captured the 2009 national title at 157 pounds. With the victory, Burroughs finished his career at Nebraska with a record of 128-20-0, which places him fourth on the school's all-time wins chart.

Oklahoma State added one more NCAA individual wrestling title to its trophy case Saturday after Jordan Oliver dropped No. 2 Andrew Hochstrasser of Boise State, 8-4. The Easton, Penn.-native capped a 29-0 sophomore season scored with two powerful double-legs and a slick back trip in the second period for four points to jump out to an 8-3 advantage. The title is the 34th for the Cowboys.

Top-seeded and undefeated Jon Reader became the 50th Iowa State wrestler to win an NCAA individual title, dominating Stanford's seventh-seeded Nick Amuchastegui, 10-3 in the 174-pound national title match. Reader finished the season 39-0 and ended his career with a record of 124-23. He is now a three-time All-American, earning seventh-place honors in 2008 and fourth-place honors in 2009. Reader is the third national champion from Davison, Mich.

Penn State totaled 107.5 points in the tournament, claiming top honors for the first time since 1953. Cornell (93.5), Iowa (86.5), Oklahoma State and American (65) rounded out the top five. Penn State 174-pounder Ed Ruth won the Gorrarian Award given to the wrestler with the most falls in the least time. The Outstanding Wrestler Award went to Arizona State's Anthony Robles. The 2012 NCAA Championships return to St. Louis, Mo.

< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More