Print RSS
Aggie Men, Baylor Women Claim Big 12 Tennis Championships
May 01, 2011

2011 Big 12 Tennis Championship Central

WACO, Texas - The Texas A&M Aggies and Baylor Lady Bears claimed the men's and women's Big 12 Tennis Championships Sunday morning at the Baylor Tennis Center. This marks the sixth-straight title for BU and fourth overall for TAMU.

Top-seeded and host Baylor dueled the second-seeded Longhorns for the seventh consecutive time winning 4-1. The second-seeded Aggies topped fifth-seeded Oklahoma, who was making its first-ever Championship appearance, 4-0, to claim their first crown since 2001. Texas A&M had also earned the postseason title in 1998 and 2000.

Senior Jeff Dadamo, who had three singles and three doubles wins on the weekend, claimed the Most Outstanding Player honor on the men's side, while Diana Nakic, who clinched the match for the Bears and went 3-0 in singles and 2-1 in doubles on the weekend, took the distinction on the women's side.

In the TAMU-OU match-up, the Aggies secured the doubles point with wins at the No. 1 and No. 3 slots. Dadamo and partner Austin Krajicek, ranked fourth nationally, secured an 8-2 win over 70th-ranked Ionut Beleleu and Tsvetan Mihov at the No. 1 position, while Colin Hoover and Alberto Bautista posted an 8-6 win at the No. 3 spot.

Dadamo quickly put TAMU up 2-0 with a 6-3, 6-4 win over 48th-ranked Costin Paval at the No. 2 singles spot. Hoover out-dueled Lawrence Formentera 7-5, 6-2 at the No. 5 slot to make it a 3-0 Aggie lead.

Alexey Grigorov, ranked 89th nationally, sealed the Aggie win with a two-set triumph over Peerakit Siributwong, 6-4, 7-6 (2).

On the women's side, Baylor, who lost the doubles point in their quarterfinal and semifinal matches, secured the point against the Longhorns. After UT took the No. 1 match, 8-5, Nakic and Sona Novakova took an 8-4 victory at the No. 3 spot over Juliana Gajic and Maggie Mello. Taylor Ormond and Jelena Stanivuk sealed the 1-0 lead for Baylor with an 8-6 win at the No. 2 spot.

In singles play, Nina Secerbegovic made it 2-0 Bears with a 6-0, 6-3 win over Mello at the No. 3 spot. UT's Aeriel Ellis picked up a victory at the No. 1 spot, but the Bears would take the No. 6 and No. 2 wins to secure the title. Ormond claimed her third singles victory of the event with a 7-5, 6-4 win over Cierra Gaytan-Leach. Nakic wrapped up the BU win with a 6-4, 7-5 win over Krista Damico at the No. 2 spot.

The Texas A&M men and Baylor women earn automatic berths into the NCAA Team Championships. The fields will be announced on Tuesday, May 3 with the women's announcement at 4 p.m. CT and the men's announcement at 4:30 p.m. The individuals selected to the singles and doubles championships will be announced on Wednesday, May 4 at 5 p.m. CT.

2011 Big 12 Women's Tennis Championship
No. 1 Baylor 4, No. 2 Texas 1
Most Outstanding Player: Diana Nakic, Baylor

2011 Big 12 Men's Tennis Championship
No. 2 Texas A&M 4, No. 5 Oklahoma 0
Most Outstanding Player: Jeff Dadamo, Texas A&M

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More