Print RSS
Sooner Men, Husker Women Lead After Day One Of Outdoor Championships
May 13, 2011

Championship Central

The Oklahoma men and Nebraska women lead after Friday's day one action at the 2011 Big 12 Outdoor Track and Field Championships at the John Jacobs Track Complex.

For the men, the host Sooners posted 29 points on the day, with Colorado in second with 23 points and Texas A&M in third with 19.

On the women's side, Nebraska holds a seven-point advantage over the defending-champion Aggies. NU has 29 points while the Aggies recorded 22 points with Iowa State in third at 21. The OU women sit in fourth with 20 points.

Joe Bosshard (Colorado) set a Championship and stadium record in the men's 10,000-meter with a winning time of 28:52.85. The sophomore gave CU its third title in the event and shattered the John Jacobs Track Stadium record of 28:56.9 set in 1978. The Buffs and Sooners split the top eight finishers with CU earning first, fourth, sixth and seventh place finishes for 20 points from the event. OU's runners placed second, third, fifth and eighth for 18 points.

Along with Bosshard, the two through four finishers also crossed the finish line in times that bested the previous meet record of 29:24.21 set in 2010. OU's Kevin Schwab (28:59.67) and George Alex (29:09.40) took second and third, while Colorado's Richard Medina (29:16.42) finished in fourth and Oklahoma's Bill Kogel (29:22.09) fifth.

The Sooners collected three titles on the day, including Jessica Engel's winning time of 33:42.11 in the women's 10,000-meter. In Engel's first-ever outdoor 10k, the junior recorded the second-fastest time in the Championship.

KP Singh (Oklahoma) won the men's hammer throw for second-straight year with a mark of 211-06 (64.40). He is the third all-time competitor to win the event in consecutive years.

After three events in the heptathlon, Daphne Fitzpatrick (Texas A&M) is on top with 3,525 points. Fitzpatrick leads defending champion Chantae McMillan (Nebraska) by 37 points. The senior Aggie closed out the day with a first-place finish in the 200-meter dash at 24.13 and also finished in first in the high jump with a mark of 5-10 (1.78). McMillan took the top finishes in the 100 meter hurdles (13.81) and shot put (46-06.25, 14.18).

The final three events of the heptathlon begin at 10:30 on Saturday, culminating with the 800-meter run at 3:05 p.m.

In the decathlon, Lars Rise (Missouri) leads after the first four events with a score of 4,038, 42 points ahead of Bjorn Barrefors (Nebraska). After a seventh-place finish in the 100-meter dash, Rise took first in the long jump with a mark of 7.34 and in the shot put with a throw of 49-04.25 (15.04).

The decathlon events will resume on Saturday beginning with the 110-meter hurdles at 10 a.m. and finishing at 5 p.m. with the 1500-meter.

Junior Sooner Brittany Borman gave OU its second-straight women's javelin champion, winning the event with a throw of 163-8 (49.38). Borman entered the Championship with the top mark on the Big 12 performance list for the season. It is the first time two different athletes from the same school have won the event in consecutive years.

Sam Humphreys (Texas A&M) defended his javelin title with a winning throw of 238-03 (72.63). The sophomore owns the two best marks in the past seven years and is the first competitor to win the event in back-to-back years.

The Huskers claimed the top three marks in the women's hammer throw with Victoria Zimmerman winning the event. Zimmerman is the first from NU to win the event since 2003 and is the fourth overall Husker to claim the title. 

Day Two action begins with combined events at 10 a.m. Field event finals start at 1 p.m. with running preliminaries set for 2 p.m.

Tickets for the meet can be purchased by calling the OU ticket office at 405-325-2424 or by visiting Live results for the Championship will be available on by visiting the championships central page.


1. Oklahoma - 29
2. Colorado - 23
3. Texas A&M - 19
4. Nebraska - 11
5. Kansas - 10
6. Missouri - 9
7. Baylor - 8
7. Iowa State - 8

1. Nebraska - 29
2. Texas A&M - 22
3. Iowa State  21
4. Oklahoma - 20
5. Colorado - 9
6. Kansas State - 6
7. Kansas - 5
7. Missouri - 5

Javelin: Sam Humphreys, Texas A&M, 238-03 (72.63)
Hammer Throw: K.P. Singh, Oklahoma, 211-06 (64.46)
10,000 meter run: Joe Bosshard, Colorado, 28:52.85

Javelin: Brittany Borman, Oklahoma, 163-08 (49.90)
Hammer Throw: Victoria Zimmerman, Nebraska, 197-09 (60.28)
10,000 meter run: Jessica Engel, Oklahoma, 33:42.11

< Track
Popular on
Load More