Print RSS
Texas A&M Women Remain At Top, Texas Men Rise To First After Day Two
February 23, 2012

The Texas A&M women’s team added to its first place lead, while the Texas men jumped into the top spot in the team standings on the second day of action at the 2012 Swimming and Diving Championships in the Mizzou Aquatic Center.

On the women’s side, Missouri opened the day with its first victory in a Big 12 Championship relay. The Tiger quartert of  Shara Stafford, Cassie Cunningham, Emily Doucette and Lisa Nathanson won the 200-yard freestyle relay with a time of 1:28.43. That win kept host MU in third in the team standings with 225 points.

Texas (296), who sits in second behind Texas A&M (342) for the women’s lead, got wins in both the 200-yard individual medley and the 50-yard freestyle. In the first event. Karlee Bispo (1:56.05) defended her 2011 crown, while Ellen Lobb (22.56) was the fourth different Texas to win the spirnt title in last four years. 

For a second consecutive day, Texas A&M had a good outing on the diving board, but on Thursday it was the Aggie women’s turn to shine. Janie Potvin (303.40) won the one-meter diving event, while her teammates Rebecca St. Germain, Jaele Patrick and Jo Thibodaux finished in second, seventh and eighth, respectively.The Aggies continued their winning ways as Maureen McLaine won the 500-yard freestyle race by posting a time of 4:41.19. Her teammate finished just under a second behind at 4:42.18 to take the runner-up spot.

Kansas sits in fourth place with 128 points, while Iowa State has tallied 121.

For the men, the Longhorns continued their unbeaten streak from day one by taking all four events contested on the second day. UT started off with a first-place finish in the 200-freestyle relay (1:18.24). The win by Charlie Moore, Austin Surhoff, Dax Hill and Jimmy Feigen was the eighth-straight in the event for the Longhorns. Texas did not stop there as Jackson Wilcox notched his fourth consecutive title in the 500-yard freestyle, turning in a time of 4:19.46. Texas has not lost the event since the inagural Big 12 Championships in 1997, a string of 15 straight victories. In the event, UT had the top three finishers as Michael McBroom and Jake Ritter finished behind Wilcox.

Texas’ Nick D’Innocenzo claimed the title in the 200-yard individual medley with a time of 1:45.40. The Longhorns have never lost the 200 IM at a Big 12 Championships and had the top four finishers in this year’s event.

In the final event of day two, UT’s Jimmy Feigen capped off the night with by earning his third consecutive Big 12 title in the 50-yard freestyle with times of 19.26.

Texas A&M sits in second with 271 points, while Missouri is third with 229.50.

The championships resume Friday with prelims at 10 a.m., which will be streamed on The women’s three-meter diving finals begin at 5 p.m., while swimming finals kick off at 6 p.m.

Men - 1. Texas (371.50); 2. Texas A&M (271); 3. Missouri (229.50)
Women - 1. Texas A&M (342); 2. Texas (296); 3. Missouri (225); 4. Kansas (128); 5. Iowa State (121)


200-Yard Freestyle Relay: Texas (Charlie Moore, Austin Surhoff, Dax Hill, Jimmy Feigen) - 1:18.23
500-Yard Freestyle: Jackson Wilcox (Texas) - 4:19.46
200-Yard Individual Medley: Nick D’Innocenzo (Texas) - 1:45.40
50-Yard Freestyle: Jimmy Feigen (Texas) - 19.26


200-Yard Freestyle Relay: Missouri (Shara Stafford, Cassie Cunningham, Emily Doucette, Lisa Nathanson) - 1:28.43
500-Yard Freestyle: Maureen McLaine (Texas A&M) - 4:41.19
200-Yard Individual Medley: Karlee Bispo (Texas) - 1:56.05
50-Yard Freestyle: Ellen Lobb (Texas) - 22.56
Women’s 1-Meter Diving: Janie Potvin (Texas A&M) - 303.40
< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More